New Plus One Courses to address Seat Shortage

News »

New Plus One Courses to address Seat Shortage

The upgrading of 31 high schools in the district to higher secondary schools has met a long – standing demand of the Malabar region.

As many as 178 high schools across the north Kerala districts, including Palakkad, Malappuram, Kozhikode, Wayanad, Kannur and Kasaragod, have been upgraded to higher secondary schools through a decision taken by the State government recently.

According to A. Pradeepkumar, Kozhikode MLA, it is a major step taken by the Left government to resolve one of the most genuine and continuing grievances of the region on the educational front.

“The students and parents must be relieved now,” he said.

The same feeling was shared by some parents here. “The fact that the courses will start from this academic year is a great relief,” said K.T. Musthafa, a parent from Vattakkinar, near Meenchatha.

According to M. Radhakrishnan, chairman of the district panchayat standing committee on education, the rise in the number of Plus One seats in the district by 3,200 would bring about a change in the higher secondary scenario of the region. “It’s a major step forward,” he said.

The Malabar region was short of nearly 30,000 seats in its total requirement of higher secondary seats.

The introduction of fresh higher secondary courses in 178 schools in the region has created 22,000 seats.

“Since all students who pass the SSLC are not likely to go in for Plus One courses, the present increase can be in a way sufficient,” said Mr. Radhakrishnan.

According to him, some of the government schools in the district have also applied for more Plus One batches, which is under “serious consideration” of the government.

“Once this is granted, the district will have more than sufficient number of Plus One seats,” he added.

The Kerala Aided Higher Secondary Teachers Association (KAHSTA) has asked the government to issue orders to create fresh posts of teaching and non – teaching staff at the newly introduced higher secondary schools.

State president of KAHSTA Joshi Antony and general secretary P.A. Joseph in a joint release issued here recently said the “delay” in creating the required post at the newly started schools would pose practical and technical difficulties in the conduct of classes and smooth administration of the schools.

Plus Two Schools

Following are the newly introduced Plus Two schools in Kozhikode district: P.V.S High School, Eranhikkal; St. Vincent Colony Girls High School; Kozhikode; St. Michael’s Girls High School, Kozhikode; St. Joseph’s High School, Pullorampara; C.M. High School, Mannor North; Fathimmabee Memorial High School, Koompara; Markaz Girls High School, Karanthur; Seva Mandiram Post Basic School, Ramanattukara; Vadakkumpadu High School, Paleri; St. Thomas High School, Thottumukkam; St. Mary’s High School, Kallanodu; Chakkalakkal High School, Madavoor; St. Mary’s High School, Koodathai; A.M. High School, Poovampai; V.M.H.M. High School, Anayamkunnu; C.M.M. High School, Thalakkulathur; Holy Family High School, Kattippara; C.K.G. Memorial High School, Chingapuram; Kunhalimarakkar High School, Iringal, Vadakara; Bafakki Thangal Memorial High School, Thurayur; Poyilkavu High School, Koyilandi; Velam High School, Vadakara; S.I. High School, Ummathur; A.J. John Memorial High School, Chathankottu; K.P.E.S. HighSchool, Kayakkodi; St. Mary’s High School, Maruthonkara; R.N.M. High School, Narippatta; and K.P.M.S.M. High School, Arikkulam.

Higher Secondary courses have been introduced in three more schools in the district. They are K.R.A. High School, Purameri; Shanti Niketan Secondary School, Thiruvallur; and Sree Vasudevasramam Secondary School, Naduvathur.

However, classes for the higher secondary courses in these schools will begin only after verifying the ownership of the schools since more than one holder had forwarded their application for the same school.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.