ACPC Received 400 Complaints against 40 Colleges

News »

Admission Committee for Professional Courses receives 400 complaints against 40 colleges

The Admission Committee for Professional Courses ( ACPC ) has warned the seven architecture colleges and 32 engineering colleges of strict action if they do not refund the fee or return the documents of the students.

About 500 complaints of malpractice by Self – Financed Institutions ( SFIs ) in admissions were received by the ACPC. Of these, around 100 have been settled.

On 8th October, 2013, a meeting of the self finance college’s management and the students was held. The management and students interacted on one to one with each other in presence of ACPC officials.

However, since the management and students could not work out a solution, the ACPC has given the colleges last warning after which they would have to pay heavy penalty.

An ACPC official said, “Of the 500 complaints, there were a maximum of 56 complaints against Changa College. We had earlier also asked these colleges to solve all these complaint by 31st August, 2013 or face action which would include paying heavy fine. Despite the warning, the colleges have failed to resolve these complaints.”

These colleges either refused to refund fees or declined to return original marksheets after candidates secured admission to government colleges, the official said. The problem began after the fourth round of admissions, where students were granted admission to various branches of government colleges. These seats had fallen vacant and ACPC was given permission to hold a special round to fill them up.

As three rounds of admissions were already completed, the majority of students had even submitted their original documents and paid fees in full to self – financed colleges. With a large number asking for refunds, self – financed colleges made attempts to retain these students by withholding the refunds or documents. The rules stipulate that self – financed colleges have to return fees and documents.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.