Anna University of Technology Tiruchi set to abandon 29 Colleges

Anna University of Technology – Tiruchi (AUT-T) has reportedly started the process of transferring 29 out of the 102 colleges in its fold to the newly created Anna University of Technology – Madurai.

MBA Question Bank CD

They encompass 22 self-financing engineering colleges, one college of architecture, one standalone MBA college, one standalone MCA college, two government colleges, and two constituent colleges.

The two constituent colleges among the affiliated institutions to be handed over to Anna University of Madurai are in Dindigul and Ramanathapuram.

Now that vice-chancellors have been appointed in both universities, the process of transferring the control of the colleges is likely to be completed in a fortnight’s time, AUT-T sources said.

Earlier in the year, the State Government had passed a bill excluding Madurai, Theni, Dindigul, Ramanathapuram and Sivaganga districts from the jurisdiction of the Anna Universities of Technology in Tiruchi and Tirunelveli for the purpose of affiliating the colleges in these districts to the Anna University of Technology – Madurai.

At the start of the academic year, the Government also chose to rename Anna University – Tiruchi as Anna University of Technology – Tiruchi.

Technical universities in Coimbatore, Tirunelveli and Madurai were similarly named, and a separate Anna University of Technology – Chennai was also created.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *