Awards for Distinction in Academics

News »

Awards for Distinction in Academics

N. Kumar, Dean (Horticulture), Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, has been awarded the Shri Girdhari Lal Chadha Memorial Gold Medal for the year 2009 by the Horticultural Society of India. The award was presented by C.D. Mayee, Chairman, Agricultural Service Recruitment Board, New Delhi.

Mr. Kumar was presented this award for his contribution in the field of Fruit Science. He is the first horticultural scientist from TNAU to bag prestigious award, according to a release.

Mr. Kumar has served as Principal Investigator for more than 13 externally funded schemes worth more than Rs. 100 lakh. During the last 10 years, his research focus was on crop improvement of banana.He has published four text books in horticulture, more than 50 research articles in international journals and 82 in national journals.

Arockia Maraichelvi K, Assistant Professor, Department of Human Development, Avinashilingam University for Women, has received the Kusuma Young Researcher Award 2009 from the Kusuma Trust, the U.K.

The award is for her doctoral thesis on “Facilitating the Subsistence of Street Children through Life Enrichment Education”.

The award includes a purse of Rs. 2 lakh. Ms. Maraichelvi received the award from Gursharan Kaur, wife of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh at a function organised in New Delhi.

According to a release, the Trust is a funding organisation partnering with various non-Governmental organisations and institutions of repute to realise its vision of improving the lives of the marginalised sections of society.

T. Gayathri, student, G.R.D. Institute of Management, has been selected to receive the Best Management Student Award of the Coimbatore Management Association.

The award is given to encourage students at the Post-Graduate level, according to a release.

V.M. Duraisamy, Head, Department of Farm Power and Machinery, Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, has been conferred the “Distinguished Service Certificate” award by the Indian Society of Agricultural Engineers.

The award, for 2007-08, was presented to him at the 44 {+t} {+h} ISAE Convention held at New Delhi in January 2010.

He received the award from B.S. Pathak, Director, Sardar Patel Renewable Research Institute, Gujarat.

It was in recognition of his services in the field of farm power and machinery.

He is credited for developing crop-wise and operation-wise farm equipment and implements for mechanising agriculture in Tamil Nadu, according to a release.

The Science City, Department of Higher Education, Government of Tamil Nadu, has conferred the “Tamil Nadu Young Women Scientist Award” to Uma Devi, Assistant Professor, Department of Biotechnology, Karunya University, for her contribution in the field of life sciences.

She received the award from Higher Education Minister K. Ponmudy at a function organised in Chennai recently.

It is given to women scientists below 40 years for their passion in research and development in science and technology.

It carries a citation and purse of Rs. 20,000.

Ms. Devi was presented the award for serving as co-ordinator of the Community Health Service in Karunya University.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.