Bharathiar University granting affiliation to the 15 New Arts & Science Colleges

News »

Bharathiar University granting affiliation to the 15 New Arts & Science Colleges

The Bharathiar University (BU) is considering granting affiliation to the 15 new arts and science colleges which, have applied to the varsity for permission to start courses from the next academic year.

As of now, there are 102 arts and science colleges under the varsity, its jurisdiction covering Coimbatore, Tirupur, Erode and Nilgiris.

BU Vice-Chancellor Prof. C Swaminathan noted that, “Coimbatore once known as cotton city, is now an educational hub as more number of colleges have been set up here. Generally, there is an increase of around 10 percent in admissions to colleges every year.”

Regarding the HRD Ministry’s recommendation to create more autonomous colleges to improve the quality of higher education, the VC said four colleges had sought autonomy.

He pointed out that autonomous colleges can design innovative courses for students and informed that BU is also contemplating some changes in the introduction of courses next academic year, with a view to improving the higher education system.

“We are planning a Post Graduate programme on textile and designing as Coimbatore is known for textiles. Apart from this, we are also planning a course on ‘Snow Physics’ in association with the Defence Ministry under the DRDO project,” he said.

The VC observed that vocational education was the one area that was not given much attention. He said that they would have the Board of Studies meeting shortly, where the issue of vocational education and efforts to improve it would be discussed.

47.450 degrees to be given away at BU convocation

The 25th convocation of the varsity will be held on November 24. Governor Surjit Singh Barnala who is the BU Chancellor, Higher Education Minister K.Ponmudy and Union Public Service Commission member E Balagurusamy will participate. 30,091 UG degrees, 15,478 PG degrees, 1,622 M.Phil degrees, 258 Ph.Ds and one Doctor of Science will also be given away at the convocation.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.