Bharathiyar University honours DRDO Controller

News »

Bharathiyar University honours Defence Research and Development Organization Controller

The Bharathiar University (BU) will confer honorary doctorate on A Sivathanu Pillai, Chief Controller, Research and Development, Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO), for contributions in missile programme.

Talking to mediapersons here, BU Vice-Chancellor Prof G Thiruvasaggam said doctorate will be conferred on Pillai during the 23rd convocation of varsity, to be held on Feb. 08

“Besides the missile program, Pillai’s contribution in application of modern management technology in research and development are commendable,” the V-C said.

A many as 236 PhDs will be awarded at the convocation. Gold medals will also be presented to 103 rank holders.

Planning Commission member Prof. Balachandra Mungekar will deliver the convocation address in the presence of Tamil Nadu Governor Surjit Singh Barnala.

Postponed: The compulsory introduction of additional papers like computer Application and Communication Skill for B.Ed. students has been postponed to the next academic year, as the candidates have felt that it is to late for the introduction of the papers.

“We took the decision after considering the suggestions from the students and academicians. But the papers will be introduced in the 2008 – 08 academic year,” Thiruvasagam said.

Similarly, the university has postponed the introduction of a paper on pedagogy for M.Phil candidates.

“These papers will improve the skill of the students,” the V-C remarked.

Founders Day: For the first time, the university has instituted a day – Feb 5 to remember those who worked for the development of the varsity

“It will be like a family function. Where all the workers will be invited with their families. It is a day to remember all the good works they have done for the varsity,” Thiruvasagam said and added that the day will be observed from this year.

This Feb-5, the first V-C of the varsity Prof. R. Subbaiyan, first registrar P N Silambannan and a few ministers will participate the honorary guests.

Cultural programmes and competitions will also be held.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.