Foreign Professors Interested to Join IIM Ahmedabad

News »

Foreign University Professors Eager to be at IIM Ahmedabad

Harvard Law School Professor Ashish Nanda’s appointment as the director of the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad ( IIM – A ) has attracted faculty members from foreign universities to join the leading business school in India.

The institute seems a preferred destination for young faculty members from the US and other countries. Out of the seven new faculty appointments from January, 2013 to September 2013, excluding Prof Nanda, three are from various foreign universities.

The new faculty members are appointed in IIM Ahmedabad who have been recruited between May, 2013 and August, 2013.

  • Prof Naman Desai from Dixon School of Accounting ( University of Central Florida )
  • Prof Ramanathan Subramaniam from the University of Kansas
  • Prof Pavan Mamidi from the Harvard Law School

Other recruits are Prof Kartik Sriram, who completed a Fellow Programme in Management from IIM Bangalore, Prof Vishal Gupta from IIM Calcutta, Prof Sharon Barnhardt who has completed her PhD from Harvard University and Prof Shruti Sharma who has a PhD from the University of California.

As on 27th September, 2013, the faculty strength at IIM – A is 91. With the sanctioned limit of 120 Faculty Members and an emphasis on better compensation structure, the institute is hopeful of attracting global talent.

“Prof Nanda’s appointment has encouraged more world class talent to teach at IIM – A, be it taking up short term assignments or on a permanent basis. We are already seeing a change in the recruitment pattern,” said a senior faculty member.

At present, IIM – A has one of the finest faculty members in the world, with more than half the faculty members having PhDs from prominent universities abroad. Most of them have prior experience at eminent business schools, such as the London Business School, the University of Texas at Austin, the McGill University, the Tulane University and the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.