Go for Specialisation in Indian Dance Forms

News »

Go for Specialisation in Indian Dance Forms

The Department of Dance at the Sarojini Naidu School of Arts and Communication offers a 2 year Post Graduate (Master of Performing Arts) and PhD Degrees in the subject.

The MBA program is devised to :

  1. enhance Scholarship of dance in theory and practice.
  2. initiate students into research and teaching.
  3. develop an ability to aesthetically appreciate dance as a specialised human endeavour.
  4. enable students perform with greater felicity and undertake new choreographic works.

Three different specialisations, viz., Kuchipudi, Bharatanatyam, and Folk are being offered. Headed by Dr. J. Anuradha, who specialises in Kuchipudi and Dance Research, other faculty members include Reader P. Ramalinga Sastry (Bharatanatyam) and Dr. M.S. Sivaraju (Music for Dance & Research).
Arts management, music, stage craft & design, dance & media are some of the important areas the course deals with.

For those specialising in Bharatanatyam and Kuchipudi, the stress is on classical Indian dance techniques including the Sattwikabhinaya, their analysis and application to suit changing needs. The Folk dance wing collates works of folklorists, linguists, ethnologists and social anthropologists.

This stream offers a blend of practice and theory, including folk narrative, music and choreographic techniques involved in circular, martial, acrobatic, traditional theatre and mask dance forms.

Some of the eminent visiting faculty, who have conducted specialised week / fortnight-long workshops include Prof. C.V. Chandrasekhar (Bharatanatyam), Dr. B.M. Sundaram (Dance Music), Dr. Pappu Venugopala Rao (Vaggeyakaras), Sri Vedantam Radheshyam, Victoria Hauke, Dr. Sunil Kothari and others.

Students are exposed to video seminars, performing in dance-productions, opportunities to create new dances and travel to important performing arts festivals.

Some of the eminent guest faculty, associated with the department since its inception include late Prof. P.S.R. Appa Rao, late Dr. Arudra, Dr. Vempati Chinna Satyam, Sharon Lowen and Sumati Kaushal.

Nine scholars have been awarded the PhD, a program started under Prof. Nataraj Ramakrishna in 1991, while a dozen are pursuing the award currently.

Entrance Exam

Admission is through an entrance exam that combines objective and essay-type questions. There is also a common question paper for all specialisations.

Those selected will then be called for a practical test before final selection.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.