Higher Secondary Status for Six Government High Schools in Tiruchi District

News »

Higher Secondary Status for Six Government High Schools in Tiruchi District

Six high schools have been upgraded into higher secondary schools in Tiruchi district for the 2010-11 session.

High schools at Pappapatti and Thumbalam in Musiri educational district; Thavalaiveeranpatti, Sevalpatti and Valanadu in Manapparai area in Tiruchi educational district; and Malvai in Lalgudi educational district have been upgraded, according to Education department officials.

On an average, 100 high schools are upgraded as higher secondary schools across the State each year. Last year, five high schools were converted into higher secondary schools in Tiruchi district. The role of the public has been an instrumental factor in the upgrade.

As per norms, the public have to cough up Rs. 1 lakh for getting a middle school upgraded into a high school. The amount of public contribution is double for converting a high school into a higher secondary school.

On the basis of an assessment made every year by Education Department officials, the list of schools eligible for upgrade is made. The specific needs of particular regions are factored in. This process has been very helpful for rural students, particularly girls, to complete their schooling.

The norm is that a high school seeking conversion to higher secondary status must be located at least eight kilometres away from the nearest government or government aided higher secondary school. However, the stipulation is eased for upgrade of girls’ schools.

The upgrade augurs well with the rise in the number of girls appearing for Plus Two examinations every year. Of the 26,599 Plus Two students who appeared for the 2010 public examinations in Tiruchi district, 15,149 were girls.

With the latest upgrade, the number of Government higher secondary schools in Tiruchi district has risen to 59, according to Chief Educational Officer K. Swaminathan. The total number of higher secondary schools, including the Government schools, Adi Dravida Welfare schools, aided schools, and self-financing schools, has risen up to 184.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.