Five chosen for Ambedkar Award

News »

Five chosen for Ambedkar Award

Indian Science Monitor, a non – profit institute here involved in promoting scientific temper, has chosen five persons for Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Award for Excellence 2010.

They are E.M. Sudarsana Natchiappan, MP (for Contributions in the field of Political Science); R.W. Alexander Jesudasan, Principal, Madras Christian College (Research in Entomology); K. Ramachandran, Post Master General (Innovative Activities in Postal Services); S. Velvizhi, Senior Scientist, M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation, Nagapattinam, (Popularising and Streamlining Marine – based Livelihood options to Rural Communities); and D. Dayalan, Superintending Archaeologist, Archaeological Survey of India (Integrating Electronic and Digital Technology in Archaeological Interpretation).

Speaking at a function organised here on 16 February, 2011 in this connection, former judge of the Supreme Court S. Mohan appealed for societal recognition of intellectuals and scientists.

“It is unfortunate that they do not get the recognition they deserve while politicians, cine actors and even black marketeers get all the publicity,” he lamented.

Justice Mohan said that “shabby treatment” meted out to the intellectual community resulted in brain drain.

T.K.V. Rajan, founder – director, ISM, said the objective of this institute was to transmit relevant scientific data from ancient, mediaeval and modern science to the scientists and concerned citizens. It also aimed at generating awareness among the public of the impact of science and technology on society.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.