ISRO to put satellite developed by UG Students into Space

News »

ISRO to put satellite developed by UG Students into Space

The country’s first Pico satellite StudSat (STUDent SATellite) developed by the engineering students would be tentatively put into orbit along with ISRO’s Cartosat-2B and will be carried by the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) on July 20, said R. Harish Rao, one of the core leader of the project.

Disclosing this to newsmen here on Saturday, Harish said StudSat is a pico-satellite and first of its kind in the country, developed by the undergraduate (UG) students of seven engineering colleges of Bangalore and Hyderabad. He said that the project was initiated when some of the students attended the International Astronautical Congress in Hyderabad in 2007 after meeting DVA Raghavamurthy of ISRO.

Incidentally, Harish, an alumnus of town-based Vindya Valley High School, visited the town on Saturday to share his experiences working on the StudSat with the mediapersons along with his mother and school correspondent Laxmi Prakash Rao and head mistress Joyce.

Presently, doing his BE (mechanical engineering) from Kavikalugur Institute of Technology and Sciences, Ramtek, said that he was inclined in aero science since his child days and choose mechanical engineering. Later, he had decided to do his MS in space and aeronautical engineering.

Explaining about StudSat, he said that it weighs below one kilogram and measures only 10 cm. cube and takes images of 90 meters resolution and it revolves 7.5 km. per second.

He said that the satellite consumes only 2 watts of power through solar panel. He said that he had visited Scotland to present a paper on “StudSat – a student pico satellite imaging” at the International aeronautical Congress in 2008.

He said that he would visit Czech Republic this year to participate in IAC conference to present paper in pico satellite. He said that he wants to develop a similar satellite at a cheaper price and help the country.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.