Six New Engineering Colleges from current academic year

News »

Six New Engineering Colleges from current academic year

The six engineering colleges, proposed in the State budget 2008-09, will start functioning from the current academic year, according to Higher Education Minister K. Ponmudy.

He told reporters here on Sunday that the government proposed to start the colleges at Villupuram, Tindivanam, Panruti, Ariyalur, Nagapattinam and Ramanathapuram.

While the first two would be affiliated to Anna University-Chennai, the remaining would come under the jurisdiction of the Anna University-Tiruchi.

Four courses with students’ intake of 60 each will be started in each of these new colleges, he said. The courses would be unveiled at the time of counselling.

The new colleges will facilitate admission of 1,440 more candidates this year. Each college will have four classrooms, a drawing room and physical and chemical laboratories.

Steps have been taken on war footing to set up a computer centre, a workshop and a library in each college, he said.

Hostel facility would be made available.

Mr. Ponmudy said a four-member team from Anna University-Chennai inspected the old taluk office building at Villupuram and the Saram spinning mills complex at Tindivanam for setting up the colleges.

On starting a medical college at Villupuram, Mr. Ponmudy said a team from the Medical Council of India recently inspected the place and opined that both teaching and medical facilities should be available at the same place.

The Minister pointed out that in certain places where no such combined facilities were available, the MCI had relaxed the rules.

He hoped it would extend the concession to Villupuram.

If this were done, 50 more students could join the medical stream this year. He said steps were being taken to clear the court case on the location of the medical college.

The Minister that from the current academic year M.Sc-Information Technology course would be offered at the Villupuram Government Arts College.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.