The Adelle and Erwin Tomash Fellowship, USA

Fellowship of Charles Babbage Institute of USA

The Charles Babbage Institute is accepting applications for the 2011 – 2012 Adelle and Erwin Tomash Graduate Fellowship. The Adelle and Erwin Tomash Fellowship will be awarded to a graduate student for doctoral dissertation research in the history of computing.

The Adelle and Erwin Tomash Fellowship may be held at the recipient’s home academic institution, the Charles Babbage Institute, or any other location with appropriate research facilities.

The stipend is $ 14,000. It is intended for students who have completed all requirements for the doctoral degree except the research and writing of the dissertation.

Preference will be given to applicants indicating a need to use CBI materials, planning research in residence at CBI, and willing to make a brief presentation of their research findings to CBI staff.

Questions pertaining to collection content and access can be directed to Stephanie H. Crowe, CBI Archivist, at

Tomash Fellowship recipients must remain students in good standing throughout the term of their fellowship, but there is no restriction on holding other fellowships, scholarships, or awards concurrent to the Tomash Fellowship.

Adelle and Erwin Tomash Fellowship Applicants should send to CBI a curriculum vitae and a five – page (single – spaced) statement and justification of the research project including a discussion of methods, research materials, evidence of faculty support for the project, and bibliography (bibliography does not count toward page count).

Applicants should also arrange for three letters of reference and certified copies of graduate school transcripts to be sent directly to CBI.

Charles Babbage Institute : Tomash Fellowship

211 Andersen Library,
University of Minnesota,
222 – 21st Avenue South,
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Application Deadline : January 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *