Sambalpur University

Universities in India » Orissa »

Sambalpur University History

The Sambalpur University Act was passed by the Orissa Legislature on 10th December, 1966 to fulfill long cherished dream of the people of Western Orissa for establishment of a University. The Sambalpur University started functioning from 1st January, 1967 with Professor Parsuram Mishra as the first Vice – Chancellor. The Sambalpur University was inaugurated on 4th January, 1967 by Hon’ble Chancellor A.N.Khosla. The Sambalur University started functioning in 1967 in a rented private building at Dhanupali, Sambalpur and in Government building at Ainthapali, Sambalpur from 1968 – 72. In the year 1973 the University was shifted to the present campus named Jyoti Vihar at Burla.

The territorial jurisdiction of the University covers 10 districts of the state of Orissa namely Sambalpur, Sundargarh, Jharsuguda, Deogarh, Bargarh, Bolangir, Subarnapur, Nawapara, Kalahandi, Boudh and Athamallik Sub – Division of Angul District. The Sambalpur University at Jyoti Vihar provides Post – Graduate education in Twenty – seven subjects through Twenty Post – Graduate Departments. The Sambalpur University Post – Graduate Departments offer one year study.

Program for M.Phil Degree, two years study program for the Degrees of M.A. / M.Sc. / LL.M. / Business Administration / M.Lib & Information Science, One Year P.G. Diploma Course in Computer Science & Application and Diploma Course in Sambalpuri Studies and Three – Year course in M.C.A. and Executive M.B.A. The P.G.Departments of Chemistry, Life Sciences, History, Economics, Library & Information Sciences and Mathematics have been conferred Autonomous Status by the University.

They adopt Semester system based on continuous evaluation. They adopt their own courses of studies. There are Ten Post – Graduate Hostels in the University Campus out of which four are Ladies Hostels and six are Gents’ Hostels. The University provide several facilities to the boarders in the Hostels like Common Room with T.V., Reading Room with Newspaper and Magazine, Guest Room, First Aid, STD Telephone booth, etc.

The Central Canteen has been opened near the Hostel Campus for the benefit of students. Besides there are two Nationalized Banks, one Post – Office, one Health Centre, one Auditorium, one Police – Out Post, one Faculty House and one Community Centre have been established in the University Campus for providing services to students / teachers and employees in the Campus. The establishment of Directorate of Distance Education ( DEC ), Private Education Cell ( PEC ), One Nodal Computer Centre, Academic Staff College, University Yoga Centre, Professor Bhubaneswar Behera Central Library are acting like the wheels for the University system and would carry the University speedily towards achieving the noble boon for which these are set up.

The Directorate of Distance and Continuing Education has started in the year 1998 with only on – campus courses in collaboration with P.G. Departments of Sambalpur University. In the year 2000 the Directorate of Distance and Continuing Education has launched BCA, PGDCA and PGDIT courses. In the year 2003 the Directorate of Distance and Continuing Education has started floating MCA ( Direct and Lateral ), DCA Course and In the year 2006 the D.D.C.E. has started floating MBA ( Off Campus ) full time courses.

The Under Graduate & Post Graduate Courses offered by Sambalpur University are :

Sambalpur University Departments and Courses

Anthropology Department

  • Master of Arts / Master of Science in Anthropology with specialization in :
  • Physical / biological anthropology
  • Social / cultural anthropology
  • M.Phil
  • Ph.D

Chemistry Department

  • Master of Science in Chemistry with specialization in
  • Inorganic chemistry
  • Organic chemistry
  • Physical chemistry
  • Industrial chemistry
  • M.Phil
  • Ph.D
  • Diploma in Science in Chemistry

Computer Science & Application Department

  • Master of Science in Computer Science

Earth Science Department

  • Master of Science
  • M.Phil

Economics Department

  • Master of Arts
  • M.Phil

English Department

  • Master of Science in English with specialization in
  • Non – British Novels in English
  • Comparative literature & translation studies
  • Linguistics & ELT
  • M.Phil
  • Ph.D
Environmental Science Department
  • Master of Science
  • M.Phil
  • Ph.D
History Department
  • Master of Arts
  • M.Phil
  • Ph.D
Home Science Department
  • Master of Science
  • M.Phil
  • Ph.D
Law Department
  • LL.M with specialization in
  • Family law
  • Business law
  • Criminal law
 Library & Information Science Department
  • Master of Library & Information Sciences
  • M.Phil
Life Science Department
  • Master of Science
  • M.Phil

Mathematics Department

  • Master of Science in mathematics with specialization in
  • Relativity
  • Cosmology
  • Operator Theory
  • Numerical Analysis
  • Graph Theory
  • Operation Research
  • Hp Space Theory
  • Fuzzy Set Theory & DEA
  • Discrete Dynamical System
  • M.Phil
  • Ph.D
  • Diploma in Science in Mathematics
Business Administration Department
  • Master of Business Administration with specialization in
  • Systems
  • Production
  • Finance
  • Marketing

Oriya Department

  • Master of Science in Oriya with specialization in
  • Folklore
  • Drama
  • Comparative Literature
  • Fiction
  • Modern Poetry
  • Ancient Poetry
  • M.Phil
  • Ph.D
  • Oriya

Political Science Department

  • Master of Science
  • M.Phil
  • Ph.D
  • Public Administration
  • Political Science

Sociology Department

  • Master of Arts in Sociology with specialization in
  • Criminology
  • Gerontology
  • Industrial Sociology
  • Sociology of Development
  • Informal Sector and Rural Sociology
  • Human Ecology / Sociology of Environment
  • Sociology of Health
  • M.Phil
  • Ph.D
  • Diploma in Science in Sociology

Statistics Department

  • Master of Science
  • M.Phil
  • Ph.D

Sambalpur University Affiliated College

  • Gangadhar Maher College, Sambalpur, District Sambalpur – 768 004
  • Government College, Rourkela ( Orissa )
  • Rajendra College, Boloangir, District Bolangir – 767 002 ( Orissa )
  • DAV College, Titilagarh, Post Bhatipada, ( Orissa )
  • Ispat College, Rourkela – 769003
  • Government College, Bhawanipatna, Kalahandi ( Orissa )

Sambalpur University Contact Details

Sambalpur University,
Jyoti Vihar,
Orissa – 768 019, India,
Phone No. : 0663 – 2430157,
Fax : 0663 – 2430158,
Email :

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.