Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University

Universities in India » Uttaranchal »

University of Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal Information

Inception of University of Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal on December 1, 1973 was the fulfillment of a long cherished dream of the local people. University of Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal was established under the provisions of Uttar Pardesh State Universities Act ( Act No. 10 of 1973 ) on 1.12.1973 and the Act come in force w.e.f. 1.12.1973.

The name of University of Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal was rechristened to Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University in 1989 in commemoration of the memory of a leading statesman of the country, the son of the soil Shri Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna, and subsequently established as Central University under the provision of the Central Universities Ordinance, 2009, No.3 of 2009 published in the gazette of India, extraordinary Part – II, Sec – I, New Delhi, 15 January 2009.

Our University of Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal is among the ten largest Universities of the country with 3 campuses and more than 180 affiliated colleges and institutes ( both state run / aided and self financed ) and examining approximately 150000 students annually, providing higher education services in 7 out of the 13 Districts of the State of Uttarakhand.

University of Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal is blessed with state of art research facilities, some of the best teachers and close academic relations with a number of premier institutions. With its Headquarters at Srinagar some 108 K.M. from Rishikesh along the Delhi – Niti National Highway, Birla Campus at Srinagar ( bisected into two halves. The Srinagar Campus and the Chauras Campus by the river Alaknanda ), BGR Campus set on enticing mountain slopes at Pauri ( 29 K.M. from Srinagar and some 100 K.M. from Kotdwar, the nearest railway station ) and SRT Campus at Badshahi Thaul amidst dense pine forest ( some 85 K.M. from Srinagar and 65 K.M. from Rishikesh on the route to Gangotri ). University of Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal offers a variety of higher learning courses and academic programs through 10 Faculties. As a mark of the appreciation of its importance and achievements it has been upgraded as a Central University.

HNBG University Srinagar – a Historical Township

HNB Garhwal University nestled in the lap of Himalayan ranges is the Garhwal Himalaya. “The abode of Gods; Devbhumi or Tapobhumi”, is how it finds mention in mythology and religious literature.

Srinagar Garhwal is situated ( 30 0 13′ N / 78 046′ E ) in Pauri District of Garhwal region of Uttaranchal on the bank of river Alaknanda in mid-Himalaya. Being the royal capital of the erstwhile rulers of Garhwal in the past, variously known as Sripur, Srikshetra and Danush Teertha, it remained capital of Garhwal kingdom till 1805 AD; thereafter the centre of Gorkha rule till 1850 AD and administrative centre of British till 1890 AD.

The historic township enroute to the supershrine resorts of Kedarnath and Badrinath is well linked by road to all the prominent places of the region, including the three rail head – Rishikesh, Kotdwara and Dehradun. Of late, Srinagar has strongly emerged as a centre of higher learning and research with the establishment of the University. The historic town Srinagar is well linked by the road with all the prominent places of the region, including the three rail heads – Rishikesh, Kotdwara and Dehradun.

{tab=HNBGU Courses}

Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University Courses :

School of Arts, Communication

  • Hindi and Modern Indian Language
  • Sanskrit
  • English, Modern Europian and others
  • Music
  • Centre for Folk Performing Arts & Culture
  • Mass Communication
  • Drawing and Painting
  • Library and information Science

School of Agriculture and Allied Science

  • Forestry
  • Horticulture
  • Seed Technology
  • Rural Technology

School of Commerce

  • Commerce
  • Company Administration & Secretarial Practice

School of Education

  • Dept of Education
  • Department of Non-formal Continuing Education & Extension
  • Yoga
  • Physical Education

School of Engineering and Technology

  • Computer Science
  • USIC

School of Law

  • Department of Law

School of Business Management

  • Department of MBA
  • Department of Tourism

School of Medicine

  • Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

School of Sciences

  • Dept.of Physics
  • Dept.of Chemistry
  • Home Science
  • Dept.of Maths
  • Dept.of Statistic studies

School of Earth Sciences

  • Dept.of Geology
  • Dept.of Geography
  • Dept.of Defence & Strategic studies

School of Humanities and Social Science

  • History
  • Political Science
  • Sociology
  • Philosophy
  • Psychology
  • Economics
  • Dept.of Anthropology

School of Life Sciences

  • Dept.of Zoology
  • Dept.of Botany
  • Dept.of Environment

School of Arvada

  • School of Dental Science

{tab=HNBGU Address}

Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University Address :

The Registrar,
H.N.B. Garhwal University,
District Pauri Garhwal,
India – 246 174,
Telephone No. : 01346 – 252143 ( O ),  01346  – 252168 ( R ),
Fax : 01346 – 252247,
Email : rhnbgu@gmail.com.