Graca Machel Scholarships

Scholarships » Africa »

Graca Machel Scholarships 2009

Scholarships that target women have long been recognized as an effective approach in addressing gender equality and eradicating poverty.

By providing opportunities to study at postgraduate level, these scholarships aim to empower women and to equip them to take up leadership positions in order to have a direct impact in the communities, nations and region in which they live.

Following in the footsteps of Graca Machel, these female scholars will be positive role models for other women.

The Graca Machel Scholarship Programs will provide a minimum of 60 postgraduate scholarships to female students from Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe in both South Africa and the UK. The majority of the scholarships will be for study in South Africa.

One of the key concerns of Mrs Machel is giving a voice to rural women and the scholarship is therefore aimed at empowering rural women.

The Graca Machel scholarship is for women who have experienced significant struggle in their life and who have sought to overcome those barriers, be they related to gender, disability, poverty, age or racial discrimination.

Applicants will be expected to demonstrate clearly how their application fits within this vision of empowerment.

Postgraduate Study: All scholarships are for postgraduate study, either for one academic year if based in the UK or for two years if based in South Africa.

The scholarship includes payment of a maintenance allowance, travel, health insurance and tuition fees.

Candidates: Scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis to women on the basis of academic/professional merit, financial need, intended academic Programs, leadership potential and commitment to work for constructive change in Africa.

Applicants must have at least two years’ relevant work experience.

Subject Areas:

  • Health
  • Education
  • Science & Technology
  • Economics & Finance
  • Development

Applications outside these areas will not be considered and will be discarded.

Application Process: The application form is of primary importance as the main assessment is made on the basis of the completed application form.If necessary, interviews will also be conducted.

The following documents must be sent with all applications:

  • Certified copy of undergraduate degree certificate plus university academic transcript
  • One passport size photo with the applicant’s name clearly written on the back
  • One academic reference in sealed envelope
  • One employment reference in sealed envelope

Please Post (do not fax or email) completed application forms and supporting documents to:

Canon Collins Trust,
22 The Ivories,
6 Northampton Street,
London N1 2HY,

Please be aware that Canon Collins Trust will assess many applications. We have at least 20 applicants for each available scholarship.

It is important that you take time to complete the form fully, accurately and legibly. It is also vital that you demonstrate why your application should be successful.

The deadline for applications is

  • 10th August for study in South Africa

(Courses starting in February): we will notify you by 30th November if you have been successful

  • 10th December for study in the UK

(Courses starting in September/October) Application forms for study in the UK will be available in September. We will notify you by 30th June if you have been successful.


We are happy to accept references separately from the application and will collate them; however it is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure that the reference is sent.

In the case of the work reference, please be aware that confirmation of employment is not sufficient as a reference. We require information regarding your work performance and potential.

Further Scholarship Information and Application (doc):

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.