Biography of Begum Kudsia Aizaz Rasul

General Knowledge »

Indian Freedom Fighters Begum Kudsia Aizaz Rasul Biography

General Studies Question Bank CD

Begum Kudsia Aizaz Rasul was the only Muslim woman member in the constituent assembly of India.

Begum Kudsia Aizaz Rasul was born in the year 1908. She was born into a princely family Malerkotla. At very early age she was married to Nawaab Aizaz Rasul, a son of another of princely state named Oudh.

Begum Kudsia Aizaz Rasul entered into the politics as the member of Muslim League Under Government of India Act, 1935 and she was elected to the U.P legislative assembly in 1937. Begum Kudsia Aizaz Rasul served as the Deputy President of the Council from 1937 to 1940.

She became the Leader of Opposition in the Council in the year1952. She remained in this post for two years. She was the first Muslim woman in the world to hold these posts. Begum Kudsia Aizaz Rasul strongly opposed the Zamindary system.In 1946 she was selected as the member of Constituent Assembly of India.

General Studies Question Bank CD

She was the only Muslim women representative in this assembly.After independence she joined Indian national congress. Begum Kudsia Aizaz Rasul was elected to Rajya Sabha in 1952.

She also served as the member of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly from 1969 to 1990.She was appointed as the Minister for Social Welfare and Minorities in 1969.

Begum Kudsia Aizaz Rasul also had deep interest in sports and literature.She was the President of Indian Women Hockey Federation and Asian Women`s Hockey Federation. Begum Kudsia Aizaz Rasul was sent to Japan in 1953 and Turkey in 1955 as the Prime Minister’s Goodwill Delegation.

He wrote many articles in various newsapers and magazines. Begum Kudsia Aizaz Rasul also wrote two books “Three Weeks in Japan”and “From Purdah to Parliament, A Muslim Woman in Indian Politics”.(Her autobiography).

She was awarded Padma Shree in 2000. Begum Kudsia Aizaz Rasul passed away in 2001.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.