Biography of Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya

General Knowledge »

Indian Freedom Fighter Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya Biography
General Studies Question Bank CD

Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya was a well-known Indian freedom fighter and founder of the Andhra Bank.

Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya was born on November 24, 1880 at Gundugolanu village, in Andhra Pradesh.He was from a very poor Bramhin family. He was a very intelligent student and continued his study with scholarship.

He did his graduation from prestigious Madras Christian College. After that Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya earned M. B. C. M. Degree to become a doctor. He started medical practice at Machilipatnam, a coastal town in Andhra Pradesh.

But later on he abandoned medical practice and joined Indian Freedom Struggle. In 1910 Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya established Andhra Jateeya Kalasala.

From 1908 to 1911, he served as the editor of Krishna Patrika Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya. He was a supporter of extremist leaders like Lala Lajpat Rai, Bal Gangadhar Tilak and Bipin Chandra Pal.

Then Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya became the follower of the Home Rule League of Dr. Annie Besant. Later on he was influenced by Mahatma Gandhi`s philosophy.

Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya started publishing an English Journal Janmabhoomi to disseminate the views of Gandhiji. Pandit Motilal Nehru was deeply influenced by his journalism and appointed him as the editor of the journal `Independent`.
General Studies Question Bank CD

Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya founded several financial institutions like – Krishna Cooperative Central Bank in 1915, Andhra Bank in 1923, Andhra Insurance Company (first Insurance Company in Andhra) in 1925, Vadiamannadu Land Mortgage Bank in 1927, Bharat Laxmi Bank Ltd. in 1929 and Hindustan ideal insurance Company in 1935.

For active participation in the Salt Satyagraha (1930), Civil disobedience Movement (1932). Individual Satyagraha and Quit India Movement (1942) Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya was imprisoned several times by the British ruler.

Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya was selected as the member of Constituent Assembly of India. Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya was also the member of Rules Committee, union powers Committee and provincial Constitution committee. In 1948 he became the President of Congress.

After independence, he was also appointed as the Governor of Madhya Pradesh in 1952. Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya wrote many books including `National Education` (1912), `Indian Nationalism` (1913), `The Redistribution of Indian Provinces on a Linguistic Basis` (1916), `Non-Cooperation` (1921), `History of the Indian National Congress`.

Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya died on December 17,1959.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.