Biography of BS Yeddyurappa

General Knowledge »

Karnataka Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa Biography

General Studies Question Bank CD
B.S. Yeddyurappa is an Indian Politician representing the BJP and is the Chief Minister of Karnataka.

B.S. Yeddyurappa is an Indian Political personality and was born on 27th February, 1943 in the Mandya district of Karnataka. B.S. Yeddyurappa belongs to the Bharatiya Janata Party and stands for Shikaripur in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

After BJP’s success in the 2008 Karnataka Legislative Assembly, B.S. Yeddyurappa became the twenty fifth chief minister of Karnataka and took his oath on the 30th of May, 2008. Before the coalition with the Janata dal he was the chief minister in November, 2007 but for a short span of time.

B.S. Yeddyurappa is the first politician of the Bharatiya Janata Party to become the chief minister of a south Indian state.

B.S. Yeddyurappa belongs to the Lingayat Community. His father is Siddalingappa and mother is Puttathayamma. B.S. Yeddyurappa completed his education after attaining the degree of Bachelor of Arts. In his early life ha was a clerk at Veeravadra Shastri’s Shankar rice mill.

B.S. Yeddyurappa got married to Mythradevi in the year 1967 and has two sons and three daughters. B.S. Yeddyurappa learnt his initial leadership skills, improvement of mass base and human resource administration from the RSS, and successfully hold on to them when B.S. Yeddyurappa decided to lead different mass movements in the state, stressing the troubles faced by landless farmers and bonded labourers.

B.S. Yeddyurappa prohibited the introduction of the Bill intended at the expulsion of unauthorised cultivators. Yeddyurappa rose to prominence when he helped Janata Dal Party’s H.D. Kumaraswamy to bring down the coalition government of Dharam Singh.

B.S. Yeddyurappa’s early political career began when he was appointed as the secretary of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh’s Shikaripur unit in the year 1970. B.S. Yeddyurappa was elected as the President of the Town Municipality of Shikaripur.

In the year 1980, B.S. Yeddyurappa was appointed as the President of the Shikaripur taluk unit of the BJP and later in 1985 B.S. Yeddyurappa became the President of BJP’s Shimoga district.

B.S. Yeddyurappa was the president of the BJP unit of the state of Karnataka in the year 1988. In the tenth legislative assembly he was chosen as the Leader of the opposition. In the year 1999 B.S. Yeddyurappa lost in the elections but was nominated as a member of the legislative council (upper house) of Karnataka by the BJP.

General Studies Question Bank CD

In the 2008 assembly election of Karnataka B.S. Yeddyurappa contested from Shikaripura against S. Bangarappa of Samajwadi Party who was an ex chief minister of Karnataka.

Yeddyurappa won the seat by a margin over 45,000 votes and took the oath of office as Chief Minister on May 30, 2008. B.S. Yeddyurappa was conferred the honorary doctorate title from the Saginaw Valley State University of U.S.A. in December in 2008.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.