Pranab Mukherjee won the Presidential Election

General Knowledge » Current Affairs »

Pranab Mukherjee won the Presidential Election 2012

Pranab Mukherjee was elected as the 13th President ( in person ) of India on 22 July 2012. Pranab Mukherjee defeated his rival PA Sangma with a huge margin as he secured nearly 69 percent of total valid votes. In an electoral college of 10.5 lakh, Pranab Mukherjee secured a vote value of 713763, while, PA Sangma managed to get only a vote value 315987. The victory of Pranab Mukherjee was announced by Returning Officer for the Presidential election VK Agnihotri. Pranab Mukherjee will be sworn in as the thirteenth President of India on 25 July 2012.

Out of the total 748 MPs, Pranab got the support of 527 while his rival, PA Sangma got 206 votes in his favour. Fifteen votes including that of Samjwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav were invalid. Of these, nine were to be in favour of Mukherjee while six for Sangma.

Each MP had a vote value of 708 in the Presidential Election 2012. There are a total of 776 voters in both the Houses of Parliament. The Electoral College also consisted of 4120 MLAs in the states.

The Election Commission of India had issued the notification for Presidential Election 2012 on 16 June 2012. 30 June 2012 was the last date for filing the nomination. Elections were held on 19 July 2012. Pranab Mukherjee and PA Sangma were two principle contestants of 14th Presidential Election.

Some Important Facts Related to Presidential Elections in India

Indian President Election Value of Vote of an MLA = State Population / ( 1000 X Total no. of elected MLA’s )

On the basis of the above formula, Indian President Election value of the vote of an MLA from UP has the highest value and that from Sikkim the lowest.

Indian President Election Value of Vote of an MP = Total value of votes of MLA’s of all States / Total no.of elected MP’s ( LS + RS )

The 1971 census is currently under consideration.

The election is held through the system of proportional representation by means of the single – transferable vote by secret ballot.

The candidate who gets 50 percent of votes is considered elected.

Supreme Court looks into all disputes related to Presidential election.

Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of India, was the only President who served two tenures in the office.

VV Giri is the only person who was elected as the President of the country as an independent candidate in 1969.

Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy was the only person to be elected to the office of President of India unopposed, as no other candidate filed nomination for the post of the President. He was elected to the office of President in July 1977.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.