R. Lakshmipathy Elected as Chairman of the Press Trust of India

General Knowledge » Current Affairs »

R. Lakshmipathy Elected as Chairman of the Press Trust of India

Dr. R. Lakshmipathy, Publisher of National Tamil Daily Dinamalar & Publisher of Maritime English Tabloid Weekly Newspaper Sagar Sandesh, has been elected Chairman of Press Trust of India ( PTI ). At the PTI Directors’ meeting held in New Delhi on September 24th, 2012. Dr. Lakshmipathy was unanimously elected as the Chairman. It is worth mentioning here that he is currently a Member of the Press Council and earlier twice he had held the post of PTI Chairman.

Mr. K. N. Shanth Kumar from Deccan Herald was elected as Vice – Chairman of PTI. PTI is India’s premier news agency, employing more than 400 journalists and 500 stringers to cover almost every district and small town in India. Collectively, it puts out more than 2,000 stories and 200 photographs a day to feed the expansive appetite of the diverse subscribers, who include the mainstream media, the specialised presses, research groups, companies and Government and non – governmental organisations.

PTI Correspondents are also based in all the State capitals of India and important business and administrative centres around the world. It also has exchange arrangements with several foreign news agencies to magnify its global news footprint. Currently, PTI commands 90 per cent of news agency market share in India. PTI was registered in 1947 and started functioning in 1949. On its Golden Jubilee in 1999, President ( then ) K R Narayanan said: “We got independence in August 1947. But independence in news and information we got only with the establishment of PTI in 1949. That is the significance of PTI.”

General Studies Question Bank CD

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.