Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Appointed as the Head of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards Committee

General Knowledge » Current Affairs »

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Appointed as the Head of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards Committee

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, the silver medallist of Athens Olympics 2004, was named the head of the 15 – member committee, set up to select the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee and Arjun Award winners. Aslam Sher Khan, the former hockey team skipper, was named the head of the 15 – member committee that will select the Dronacharya Awardees.

Rajeev Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the highest sports award in the country. The award consists of a cash award of 7.5 lakh rupees, a scroll of honour and a medal. Arjuna Awards, the second highest awards given to sportspersons, carries a scroll of honour, and a cash award of five lakh rupees. Dronacharya Awards are given to the coaches of different sports for their remarkable contribution. The Dronacharya Awards are consisted of a plaque, a scroll of honour, ceremonial dress and a cash award of five lakh rupees.

while sports secretary will be the chairperson of the committee which will select the Dhyanchand award winner.

Sources told TOI that London Olympics silver medal winner Vijay Kumar ( shooting ) and bronze medallist Yogeshwar Dutt ( wrestling ) will be considered for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, the country’s highest sporting award. All the other London Games medallists — Sushil Kumar, Gagan Narang, Saina Nehwal and MC Mary Kom — have already received the award.

The government’s announcement of the national sports awards selection committees on Tuesday carried a surprise.

Athens Olympics silver medallist Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore was named the chairperson of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna awards committee.

The surprising part is that Rathore is still an internationally active shooter, and was even in the fray for selection for the recently – concluded London Olympics.

But a sports ministry official not willing to be named said : “No where do the rules state that a sports person has to be retired to head the committee”.

In fact, the March 2010 amendment to the awards scheme states : “The committee will be comprised of a chairperson and twelve members distinguished in the field of sports. The chairperson must be a sportsperson of eminence”.

Active sports persons have been members of previous committees, including Leander Paes in 2010.

Other prominent members of the committee include former India football captain Bhaichung Bhutia, cricket bigwig and commentator Ravi Shastri, badminton player Aparna Popat, athlete Ashwini Nachappa, boxer Akhil Kumar, and swimmer Khazan Singh.

Rathore told Mail Today that it was a matter of pride for him to have been given this role. “It’s an honour for me. It comes with great responsibility. The committee has members who are great sportspersons, administrators and bring rich experience to the table. Together, we will ensure, we remain true to the spirit of the awards,” the double trap shooter and 2004 – 05 Khel Ratna awardee said.

Hockey stalwart Aslam Sher Khan heads the Dronacharya Awards committee.

The committees:

Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards :

RVS Rathore ( shooting ), Rajesh Kumar ( wrestling ), Ashwini Nachappa ( athletics ), Aparna Popat ( badminton ), Akhil Kumar ( boxing ), Khazan Singh ( swimming ), Bhaichung Bhutia ( football ), G. Mulini Reddy ( volleyball ), KS Garcha ( polo ), Ravi Shastri ( cricket ), JS Sarang ( Army Marksmanship Unit ), Manoj Yadav ( All India Police Sports Control Board ), Gopal Krishna ( DG, Sports Authority of India ), Onkar Kedia ( joint secretary, sports ), C. Chinnappa, ( director, sports, and member secretary ).

Dronacharya Awards :

Aslam Sher Khan ( hockey ), Rajkumar Sangwan ( boxing ), Dhanraj Pillai ( hockey ), Shiny Wilson ( athletics ), Moraad Ali Khan ( shooting ), Karnam Malleswari ( weightlifting ), Bahadur Singh ( athletics ), Bhupender Dhawan ( power lifting ), GS Sandhu ( boxing ), Ramphal Mann ( wrestling ), Prem Chand Degra ( administrator body building ), Injeti Srinivas ( principal secretary, sports, govt of Odisha ), Gopal Krishna, Onkar Kedia, C. Chinnappa ( member secretary ).

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.