Syed Nasim Ahmed Zaidi Appointed New Election Commissioner

General Knowledge » Current Affairs »

Syed Nasim Ahmed Zaidi Appointed New Election Commissioner 2012

Syed Nasim Ahmad Zaidi, a 1976 batch IAS officer of UP cadre, was appointed as an Election Commissioner on 7th August, 2012. His appointment was approved by President Pranab Mukherjee. Zaidi had retired as Civil Aviation Secretary on 31st July, 2012.

Zaidi was appointed to fill the vacancy which was created by the retirement of former Chief Election Commissioner S Y Quraishi and the elevation of V S Sampath as Chief Election Commissioner. H S Brahma is the other Election Commissioner.

In a long and illustrious career as a bureaucrat, Syed Nasim Ahmed Zaidi has served various key positions including Director General of Civil Aviation ( DGCA ), Permanent Representative of India to the Council of International Civil Aviation Organization ( ICAO ) from and Chairman in Airport Authority of India.

Election Commission of India

Article 324 of the Indian constitution provides for the institution of Election Commission of India. The commission was set up on 25th January, 1950 as a one member body but the number was later expanded to 3 on 16th October, 1989. However, the tenure of other two members in the body was very short as they left the office on 1st January 1990. Subsequently, on 1st October, 1993 two additional Election Commissioners were appointed. The concept of multi – member Commission has been in operation since then, with decision making power by majority vote. The three – member body is headed by the Chief Election Commissioner who is appointed by the President of India.

General Studies Question Bank CD

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.