Biography of Devi Prasad Shetty

General Knowledge »

Indian Doctor Devi Prasad Shetty Biography
General Studies Question Bank CD

Devi Prasad Shetty is a philanthropist and a famous cardiac surgeon. Devi Prasad Shetty was born in South Kanara District of Karnataka.He completed his graduation in Medical science from Kasturba Medical College in Karnataka. He did his post graduation on General Surgery from the same college.

Then Devi Prasad Shetty moved to U.K and got training in cardiac surgery at Guys Hospital.Then he started working at West Midlands as a cardiac surgeon and attained crucial experiences in heart operations.He came back to India in the year of 1989 and began working at B.M. Birla Hospital in Kolkata.

Then he shifted to Bangalore and founded Manipal Heart Foundation at Manipal Hospital in Bangalore. He established himself as one of the greatest Heart surgeons of the world. He already got several accolades from the world of Medicine. He had numerous patient all over the world in especially in southren part of India.

General Studies Question Bank CD

In 2002, Shetty established Narayana Hrudayalaya ,a modern hospital in Bommasandra near. Bangalore City. He is also the founder of the Rabindranath tagore heart research Institiute in Kolkata.He is now engaged to build-up Narayana Health City.

The health city will house a trauma hospital , an ophthalmology hospital,center for neurosciences, a children`s hospital, a cancer research centre and general hospital.

Devi Prasad Shetty  launched a special scheme named Yashasvini. This scheme is most possibly the world cheapest health insurance scheme.It is for the extreme poor section .Only Rs.5 per month is taken from the people for this scheme.The scheme is supported by Karntaka government and it has already millions of members.

Devi Prasad Shetty won several award for his contriburion both in Medical sciences and public welfare like-Schwab Foundation`s award in 2005 ,Padma Shri award for Medicine in 2004 ,Dr. B C Roy award in 2003 ,Sir M. Visvesvaraya Memorial Award in 2003, Ernst & Young – Entrepreneur Of The Year in 2003, Rajyotsava award in 2002 and Karnataka Ratna award in 2001.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.