Indian Currency

General Knowledge » Economy »

About Indian Currency

The First Indian Coins were minted ( made ) around 2500 years ago.

Paper money was first used in China over 1000 years ago.

The first “rupee” was first introduced by Sher Shah Suri. It was based on a ratio of 40 copper pieces ( paisa ) per rupee.

Udaya K Dharmalingam is the designer of the Indian rupee Symbol, which was adopted by the Government of India in 2010.

From 1953, Hindi was displayed prominently on the new notes.

The Government of India took over the issue of banknotes in 1861 from the Private and Presidency Banks.

The first series of coins with the Indian rupee symbol was launched on 8th July, 2011.

The first ₹ 1000 Note was introduced in 2000.

The first ₹ 20 and ₹ 5 note was introduced in 2001.

Decimalization started in 1957 and the rupee was divided into 100 Naye Paise.

General Studies Question Bank CD

The Reserve Bank manages currency in India and derives its role in currency management on the basis of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934. Recently RBI launched a website Paisa – Bolta – Hai to raise awareness of counterfeit currency among users of the INR.

Languages in Indian Rupee Note

Total 15 Languages ( Apart from English ) are printed in Indian Rupee Note. They are the following languages :

  • Assamese
  • Bengali
  • Gujarati
  • Kannada
  • Kashmiri
  • Konkani
  • Malayalam
  • Marathi
  • Nepali
  • Oriya
  • Panjabi
  • Sanskrit
  • Tamil
  • Telugu
  • Urdu

In India, the first paper banknote was published by Bank of Hindustan in 1770.

The current Mahatma Gandhi series of banknotes stared from 1996 with new series of ₹ 10 notes.

Indian coins are produced in 4 cities :

  • Delhi
  • Mumbai
  • Hyderabad
  • Kolkata

The coins produce from each city puts an identification mark under the year of issue. Coins produced in Delhi have a dot mark, Mumbai have diamond mark, Hyderabad have star mark and coin produce from Kolkata have nothing beneath the year.

Credit cards were first used in the United States in the 1920’s.

Indian Rupee Symbol

The new sign ( ₹ ) is a combination of the Devanagari letter “₹” ( ra ) and the Latin capital letter “R” without its vertical bar ( similar to the R rotunda ). The parallel lines at the top ( with white space between them ) are said to make an allusion to the tricolour Indian flag. and also depict an equality sign that symbolises the nation’s desire to reduce economic disparity. It was designed at the National Institute of Design.

Indian Banknotes and Coins in Circulation : As of 2012 banknotes of the denominations of ₹ 5, ₹ 10, ₹ 20, ₹ 50, ₹ 100, ₹ 500 and ₹ 1000 are in circulation; coins with face – value of 50 paisa, ₹ 1, ₹ 2, ₹ 5 and ₹ 10 rupees. This is excluding the commemorative coins minted for special occasions.

Indian Banknotes Security Features

The main security features of current banknotes are :

  • Watermark : White side panel of notes has Mahatma Gandhi watermark.
  • Security thread : All notes have a silver or green security band with inscriptions ( visible when held against light ) of Bharat in Hindi and “RBI” in English.
  • Latent Image : On notes of denominations of ₹ 20 and upwards, a vertical band on the right side of the Mahatma Gandhi’s portrait contains a latent image showing the respective denominational value numerally ( visible only when the note is held horizontally at eye level ).
  • Microlettering : Numeral denominational value is visible under magnifying glass between security thread and latent image.
  • Intaglio : On notes with denominations of ₹ 5 and upwards the portrait of Mahatma Gandhi, the Reserve Bank seal, guarantee and promise clause, Ashoka Pillar Emblem on the left and the RBI Governor’s signature are printed in intaglio ( raised print ).
  • Identification Mark : On the left of the watermark window, different shapes are printed for various denominations ₹ 20 : vertical rectangle, ₹ 50 : square, ₹ 100 : triangle, ₹ 500 : circle, ₹ 1,000 : diamond). This also helps the visually impaired to identify the denomination.
  • Fluorescence : Number panels glow under ultraviolet light.
  • Optically Variable Ink : Notes of ₹ 500 and ₹ 1,000 denominations have their numerals printed in optically variable ink. The number appears green when the note is held flat, but changes to blue when viewed at an angle.
  • See – through Register : Floral designs printed on the front and the back of the note coincide and perfectly overlap each other when viewed against light.
  • EURion constellation : A pattern of symbols found on the banknote helps software detect the presence of a banknote in a digital image, preventing its reproduction with devices such as colour photocopiers.

Currency by Countries

S.No.CoursesEligibilityNo. of Seats
1.P.G .Diploma in Taxation & Insurance Laws ( PGDTIL )Graduation in any discipline including B.A., B.Com., and B.Sc.Total 80 ( Sponsored Category 20 & Non-Sponsored Category 60 )
2.P.G. Diploma in Cyber Laws ( PGDCL )Graduation in any discipline including B.A., B.Com., and B.Sc.Total 80 ( Sponsored Category 20 & Non-Sponsored Category 60 )
3.P.G. Diploma in Intellectual Property Rights ( PGDIPR )Graduation in any discipline including B.A.,B.Com., and B.Sc.Total 80 ( Sponsored category 20 & Non- Sponsored Category 60 )

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.