Other Financial Institutions

General Knowledge » Economy »

Bank and Other Financial Institutions : : Reserve Bank of India | Imperial Bank of India | Nationalization of Banks | Regional Rural Banks

  • Industrial Credit and Investment Corporation of India Bank ( ICICI Bank ) : Established in 1955 as a public limited company to encourage and assist industrial units of the nation. It has been converted into a bank with effect from 3rd May, 2002.
  • Small Industries Development Bank of India ( SIDBI ) : Established in 1990, promotes small scale sector.
  • National Bank of Agriculture and Rural Development ( NABARD ) : Established on 5th November, 1982, gives credit facilities to farmers.
  • Export – Import Bank of India ( EXIM ) : Set – up on 1st January, 1982, grants deferred credit to Indian exporters in order to operate in the international market.
  • Industrial Development Bank of India ( IDBI ) : The IDBI which was established as Development Finance Institution under IDBI Act, 1964 has been converted as a banking company. Parliament passed the Act so as to cancel out IDBI Act 1964 and to open the way for the registration of this new banking company.
  • IDBI got the certificate of commencement of business on 28th September, 2004 and the IDBI was transformed into IDBI Ltd. on 1st October, 2004, a company under the Companies Act, 1956 and a Scheduled Bank ( on 11th October, 2004 ) under the RBI Act, 1934.
  • Industrial Finance Corporation of India Ltd. ( IFCI ) : Industrial Finance Corporation of India Ltd. was established in 1948 under a special Act on the recommendations of Central Banking Enquiry Committee.
  • The basic aim of IFCI is to arrange medium and long term credit for various industrial enterprises of the country. Since 1st July, 1993 this corporation has been converted into a company and it has been given the status of a Ltd. company with the name Industrial Finance Corporation of India Ltd.
  • Industrial Investment Bank of India Ltd. ( IIBIL ) ( Formerly known as IRBI ) : IRBI was established on 20th March, 1985 under Indian Industrial Reconstruction Bank Act, 1984 as a result of reconstituting Indian Industrial Reconstruction Corporation Ltd.
  • The basic aim of establishing IRBI was to revive sick and closed industrial units and to act as a prime loan and reconstruction agency. IRBI grants loans and advances to industrial institutions. It accepts stocks, shares, bonds and debentures and also provides guarantee on deferred payments.
  • Unit Trust of India ( UTI ) : The Unit Trust of India ( Transfer of Undertaking and Repeal ) Act, 2002 enacted in Dec 2002 provides, inter – alia, that erstwhile Units Trust of India shall be bifurcated, and the “specified undertaking”, viz., UTI – I, comprising of US – 64, Assured Return Schemes and Development Reserve Fund ( appearing in the Schedule – I to the Act ) will be transferred and vest in a government appointed Administrator, and the ‘undertaking’, viz, UTI – II, comprising of Net Asset Value ( NAV ) based schemes ( appearing in the Schedule – II to the Act ), will vest in a specified company from an Appointed Day, which is 1st February, 2003.
  • UTI – I has been named as “Administrator of the Specified Undertaking of the Units Trust of India”.
  • For the UTI – II, the State Bank of India, Punjab National Bank, Bank of Baroda and the Life Insurance Corporation of India have set up a mutual fund, named, UTI Mutual Fund, UTI Trustee Company and the UTI Asset Management Company as per SEBI ( Mutual Fund ) Regulations.
  • UTI Trustee Company has been notified as the specified company. Employees have been transferred to the UTI Asset Management Company keeping in view practice in the mutual fund industry.
  • National Housing Bank ( NHB ) : National Housing Bank was established in July 1988 as wholly owned subsidiary of RBI. NHB is the apex banking institution providing finances for houses.
  • A major” activity of NHB includes extending financial assistance to eligible institutions in the housing sector by way of refinance and direct finance.
  • Non – Banking Financial Companies ( NBFCs ) : Non – Banking Financial entities comprise NBFCs, mutual benefit financial companies ( Nidhi Companies ) and mutual benefit companies ( potential nidhi companies ). Department of Company Affairs regulates the mutual benefit financial companies and mutual benefit companies leaving the regulation of NBFCs with the RBI.

General Studies Question Bank CD

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.