Antarctica Continent Countries

General Knowledge » Geography »

Antarctica Continent Countries

World Continents

Antarctica is regulated by the Antarctic Treaty System, which defines it as all land and ice shelves south of 60°S, and has no government and belongs to no country.

However, eight territorial claims are maintained by seven different states (Argentina: Argentine Antarctica; Australia: Australian Antarctic Territory; Chile: Antártica; France: Adélie Land; New Zealand: Ross Dependency; Norway: Peter I Island and Queen Maud Land; United Kingdom: British Antarctic Territory) and one state has asserted an unofficial claim (Brazil: Brazilian Antarctica), with the rest of Antarctica unclaimed (Marie Byrd Land).

Moreover, the following dependent territories are situated in the wider Antarctic Region :

General Studies Question Bank CD

Policy matters such as eligibility criteria, counseling and admission documentsDirector ( Admissions )
SRM University,
SRM Nagar
Kattankulathur - 603203
Kancheepuram District, Tamilnadu,
Phone No. : +91-44-2745 3788, +91-44-2741 7401
Fax : +91-44-2745 3622
All other quires related to admission processO/o Director Admissions
Phone No. : +91-44-27417400
Information Centre
Phone : 91-44-2745 5715, +91-44-2745 3433


  1. The French Southern Territories, which exclude the Antarctic territorial claim of Adélie Land, are sometimes considered as an African territory, since it is administered from Réunion, and apart from the Kerguelen Islands, lies outside of the wider Antarctic Region.
  2. South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands is sometimes considered as a South American territory, since it is administered from the Falkland Islands.

General Studies Question Bank CD

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.