Other International Organisations and Groups

General Knowledge » Miscellaneous »

Other International Organisations and Groups

The Common Wealth:

  • It was originally known as ‘The British Commonwealth of Nations’. It is an association of sovereing and independent states which formally made up the British Empire.
  • Members: 53
  • Headquarters: London
  • The British Monarch (Queen Elizabeth II) is the symbolic head of the commonwealth.
  • Commonwealth heads of government meet (CHOGM) is held in every 2 years.


  • Established: March 22, 1945
  • Objective: To promote economic, social, political and military cooperation.
  • Members: 22
  • Headquarters: Cairo

General Studies Question Bank CD
Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC):

  • Established: Nov, 1989
  • Objective: To promote trade and investment in the Pacific basin.
  • Members: 21
  • Headquarters: Singapore

Asian Development Bank (ADB):

  • Established: Dec 19,1966
  • Objective: To promote regional economic cooperation.
  • Members: 67
  • Headquarters: Manila

Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN):

  • Established: Aug 8, 1967
  • Objective: Regional, economic, social and cultural cooperation among the non-communist countries of South-East Asia.
  • Members: Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar, Cambodia, (10 in number).
  • Headquarters: Djakarta

Common Wealth of Independent States (CIS):

  • Established: Dec 8, 1991
  • Objective: To coordinate inter-common wealth relations and to provide a mechanism for the orderly dissolution of the USSR.
  • Members: 11
  • Headquarters: Kirava (Belarus)

Group of 8 (G-8):

  • Established: Sept 22, 1985
  • Objective: To promote co-operation among major non-communist economic powers.
  • Members: France, Germany, Japan, UK, US, Canada, Italy, plus Russia (added later).

Group of 15 (G-15):

  • Established: 1989
  • Objective: To promote economic co-operation among developing nations.
  • Members: 18

Group of 77 (G-77):

  • Established: Oct, 1967
  • Objective: To promote economic co-operation among developing nations.
  • Members: 130

International Criminal Police Organisation (Interpol):

  • Established: 1914
  • Objective: To promote international cooperation among criminal police authorities.
  • Members: 187
  • Headquarters: France

International Olympic Committee (IOC):

  • Established: June 23, 1894
  • Objective: To promote the Olympic ideals and administer Olympic games.
  • Members: 205
  • Headquarters: Switzerland

International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO):

  • Established: Feb, 1947
  • Objective: To promote the development of international standards.
  • Members: 158
  • Headquarters: Switzerland

International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement:

  • Established: 1928
  • Objective: To promote worldwide humanitarian aid.
  • Headquarters: Geneva

Non-Aligned Movement (NAM):

  • Established: Sept, 1961
  • Objective: Political co-operation and separate itself from both USA and USSR (in the cold war era).
  • Members: 118
  • The credit of evolving the concept goes to Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru. The other contributors were Marshal Tito (President of Yugoslavia), Dr. Sukarno (President of Indonesia) and General Nasser (President of Egypt). Bandung conference in Indonesia became the forum for the birth of NAM.

European Union:

  • Established: Apr 8, 1965. Effective on July 1, 1967.
  • Objective: To create a united Europe in which member countries would have such strong economic and political bonds that war would cease to be a recurring fact.
  • Members: 27 (The ten new countries which joined in 2004 are Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia) (Romania and Bulgaria joined in 2007).
  • Headquarters: Brussels (Belgium). The common European, currency, Euro, was launched on Jan. 1, 1999.

North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO):

  • Established: April 4, 1949
  • Objective: Mutual defence and cooperation.
  • Members: 26 + Russia
  • Headquarters: Brussels

Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC):

  • Established: Sept, 1959
  • Objective: Attempts to set world prices by controlling oil production and also persues member interest in trade and development.
  • Members: 12 (Algeria, Ecuador, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, UAE, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Angola and Venezuela).
  • Headquarters: Vienna (Austria)

South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC):

  • Established: Dec 8, 1985
  • Objective: To promote economic, social and cultural cooperation.
  • Members: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka & Afghanistan.
  • Headquarters: Katmandu

World Meteorological Organisation (WMO):

  • Established: Oct 11, 1947, Effective from April 4, 1951.
  • Objective: Specialized UN Agency concerned with meteorological cooperation.
  • Members: 188
  • Headquarters: Geneva

Amnesty International (Al):

  • Established: 1961
  • Objective: To keep a watch over human rights violation worldwide.
  • Headquarters: London
  • Got Nobel Prize in 1977 for Peace.

Organisation of the Islamic Conference (OIC):

  • Established: 1969
  • Objective: To promote Islamic solidarity among member states and to consolidate cooperation among members.
  • Members: 57
  • Headquarters: Saudi Arabia

Worldwide Fund for Nature (WWF):

  • Established: Sept 11, 1961
  • Objective: To save the wildlife from extinction.
  • Members: All the countries of the world.
  • Headquarters: Gland (Switzerland).

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO):

  • Established: June 7, 2002.
  • Objective: To develop mutual cooperation.
  • Members: Russia, China, Kazakhistan, Uzbekistan, Kyrghiztan and Tajikistan.

Scouts and Guides:

  • Established: 1907 by Lt. Gen. Baden Powell.
  • Objective: To encourage good character, loyalty to god and country, service to other people and physical and mental fitness.
  • Members: About 13 million members of around 115 nations.
  • World Scouts Bureau: Geneva (Switzerland).

General Studies Question Bank CD

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.