Biography of O. Panneerselvam

General Knowledge »

Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu O. Panneerselvam Biography

O. Panneer Selvam ( born January 1951 ) is the Chief Minister elect of state of Tamil Nadu, India. He was the Finance Minister in the Jayalalithaa cabinet since 2011. He was elected as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu on the 28th September, 2014 after incumbent chief minister Jayalalithaa had to step down due to conviction in disproportionate assets case.

O. Paneer Selvam Political Career

He became the chairman of Periakulam municipality in 1996. He won the 2001 assembly elections from Periakulam and become the PWD minister. He was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu in September 2001 when then Chief Minister Jayalalithaa was barred from holding office by the Supreme Court of India. In March 2002, he resigned as Chief Minister and J. Jayalalithaa was sworn in after the Supreme Court overturned her conviction and she won a by – election from Andipatti assembly constituency. During his stint as Chief Minister, he was widely criticized of heading a puppet government closely micro – managed by Jayalalithaa.

After his resignation he became the Public Works Department minister in the Jayalalithaa government. O. Paneer Selvam was the leader of the AIADMK legislative party and the Leader of the Opposition in the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly for about two weeks, after the party lost the assembly elections in May 2006.

In that election, he was elected to be the member of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly from Periyakulam. After all the AIADMK legislators were suspended by the speaker of the house, Jayalalithaa who had decided not to attend the Legislative Assembly decided to return and replaced O. Paneer Selvam as the Leader of the Opposition. On 27th September, 2014, after the conviction of then chief minister J.Jayalalitha in disproportionate assets case, members of the AIADMK chose O Panneerselvam as the new chief minister of Tamil Nadu.

StateTest Center City ( Code )StateTest Center City ( Code )
ANDHRA PRADESHVijayawada ( 511 )MIZORAMAizwal ( 517 )
ARUNACHAL PRADESHItanagar ( 519 )NAGALANDDimapur ( 516 )
BIHARPatna ( 510 )RAJASTHANJaipur ( 503 )
CHHATTISGARHRaipur ( 504 )SIKKIMGangtok ( 513 )
[gads name="468x15"]
HIMACHAL PRADESHBaddi ( 505 )TELANGANAHyderabad ( 501 )
JHARKHANDRanchi ( 506 )TRIPURAAgartala ( 512 )
Jamshedpur ( 507 )UTTARAKHANDDehradun ( 502 )
MANIPURImphal ( 518 )UTTAR PRADESHLucknow ( 508 )
MEGHALAYAShillong ( 514 )Varanasi ( 509 )
Tura ( 515 )

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.