DNA and RNA.

General Knowledge » Science »

DNA and RNA.

DNA stands for Deoxyribose Nucleic Acid while RNA stands for Ribose Nucleic Acid.

Compounds of Carbon, Hydrogen, Oxygen, Nitrogen and Phosphorus.

Made up of Nucleotide Monomers (Polynucleotides)

A nucleotide consists of a Nitrogenous base, a Pentose Sugar & Phosphate Group.

Nucleoside : Nitrogeous Base + Sugar.

5 Nitrogenous Bases are there :

  • Cytosine
  • Uracil
  • Thymine
  • Adenine
  • Guanine

Cytosine, Uracil and Thymine are the Pyrimidine Derivatives with a single ring structure.

Adenine and Guanine are the Purine Derivatives with a double ring structure.

General Studies Question Bank CD

The pentose sugars are of 2 types:

  • Deoxyribose
  • Ribose

Thus, the Nitrogenous bases, combining with Pentose Sugars and a Phosphate Group, form 8 type of Nucleotide Molecules :

  • Cytosine + Ribose Sugar + Phosphate
  • Cytosine + Deoxyribose Sugar + Phosphate
  • Uracil + Ribose Sugar + Phosphate
  • Thymine + Deoxyribose Sugar + Phosphate
  • Adenine + Ribose Sugar + Phosphate
  • Adenine + Deoxyribose Sugar + Phosphate
  • Guanine + Ribose Sugar + Phosphate
  • Guanine + Deoxyribose Sugar + Phosphate

DNA Molecule

Long and highly complex, spirally twisted, right-handed double helix, Ladder like structure formed by 2 polynucleotides strands.

Base thymine is present, but never uracil.

Wilkins, Watson and Crick (1953) – Noble Prize for DNA Structure.

Adenine links with Thymine by two hydrogen bonds.

Guanine with cytosine by three hydrogen bonds.

A single DNA molecule has millions of pairs of nucleotide monomers.

DNA contains “Blue Print” of life.

With RNA’s help, it directs the synthesis of all structural and functional proteins of Protoplasm.

Difference Table of DNA and RNA

Name of CityCode No.Name of CityCode No.
Chennai01Mumbai 12
Madurai02Raipur 13
Cochin03Bilaspur 14
Trivandrum04Kandla 15
Bengaluru05Jaipur 16
Hyderabad06Pune 17
Vishakapatnam07Chandigarh 18
Port Blair08Lucknow 19
New Delhi09Ranchi 20
Guwahati10Kolkata 21
Patna11Dehradun 22

General Studies Question Bank CD

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.