Indian States and Union Territories

General Knowledge » States »

States of India :: States of India | Indian States

{tab=Union Territory}
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Union Territory of India

The Andaman and Nicobar Islands together with the test of India became Independent on August 15th, 1947. The two important groups of islets are Ritchie’s Archipelago and Labyrinth Islands. There are 572 islands in the territory, of which only approximately 38 are permanently inhabited. Most of the islands ( about 550 ) are in the Andamans group, 26 of which are inhabited. The smaller Nicobars comprise some 22 main islands ( 10 inhabited ). The Andamans and Nicobars are separated by a channel ( the Ten Degree Channel ) some 150 km wide. The highest point is located in North Andaman Island ( Saddle Peak at 732 metres ( 2,402 ft ) ).

  • Capital: Fbrt Blair;
  • Area: 8,249;
  • Population: 3,79,944;
  • Density of Population ( per ) : 46;
  • Sex Ratio : 878; Literacy : 86.2%
  • State Bird : Andaman Wood Pigeon;
  • State Animal: Dugong;
  • State Tree : Andaman Padauk

S.NoTopicsNumber of Questions
1Mathematics ( Ancillary level )20
2Analytical Ability20
3Logical Reasoning15
4Comprehensive verbal ability15
5General awareness in Computer Science20

Union Territories of India Chandigarh

Chandigarh is a union territory of India, that serves as the capital of two states, Punjab and Haryana. The name Chandigarh translates as “The Fort of Chandi”. The name was coined from an ancient temple called Chandi Mandir, devoted to the Hindu Goddess Chandi. Chandigarh, the dream city of India’s first Prime Minister Jawahar Lai Nehru, was planned by the famous French architect Le Corbusier.

  • Area :;
  • Population : 10,54,686;
  • Density of Population( per ) : 9,252;
  • Sex Ratio : 818;
  • Literacy : 86.4%
Doctor of Medicine ( DM )Cardiology1 ( One )
Neurosurgery1 ( One )
Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery2 ( Two )
Master of Chirurgie( MCh )Pediatric Surgery
Cardiothoracic Surgery

Dadra and Nagar Haveli India

The U.T. of Dadra & Nagar Haveli is located on the western side of the foot hills of Western Ghat. Dadra and Nagar Haveli are in the watershed of the Daman Ganga River, which flows through the territory. The towns of Dadra and Silvassa both lie on the north bank of the river. For a century and half, the fiery Portuguese were the masters of the land. The Indian nationalist volunteers liberated Dadra and Nagar Haveli in July 1954 and a pro-India administration was formed. Under the 10th Amendment to the Constitution, the territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli became a centrally administered union territory with effect from August 11, 1961.

  • Capital: Silvassa;
  • Area: 491 Sq. km;
  • Population : 3,42,853;
  • Density of Population ( per ): 698;
  • Sex Ratio : 775;
  • Literacy : 77.65%

{tab=Daman and Diu }
Daman and Diu India

Daman and Diu is situated on the western coast of India. This small union territory was under the control of Portuguese reign for more than 450 years. Goa, Daman, and Diu were incorporated into the Republic of India on December 19, 1961, by military conquest.Daman was formerly known as Damao.

  • Capital : Daman;
  • Area :;
  • Population : 2,42,911;
  • Density of Population ( per ): 2,169;
  • Literacy : 81.07%;
  • Sex Ratio :618.
Distance Education Punjabi University Application & Fee DetailsExam Dates
Last date of Distance Education MBA application form for Punjabi University13th July, 2012
Last date of Punjabi University application form with late fees of ₹ 500/-20th July, 2012
Last date of Punjabi University application form with late fee of ₹1000/-27th July, 2012
Last date of Punjabi University application form with late fee of ₹ 2000/-03rd August, 2012

Lakshadweep in India

Lakshadweep traditionally called Laccadive Islands, the smallest union territory of India, is a group of islands 200 to 300 km off of the coast of Kerala in the Laccadive Sea.

  • Capital : Kavaratti;
  • Area : 32 Sq.Km;
  • Population : 64,429;
  • Density : 2,013;
  • Sex Ratio : 946;
  • Literacy : 92.28%
  • State Animal: Butterfly Fish;
  • State Bird : Sooty Tern;
  • StateTree: Bread Fruit
1Prospectus available fromMonday4th June, 2012
2Last date of issue of prospectus at the CounterMonday 11th June, 2012 4:00 pm
3Last date of receipt of applicationTuesday 12th June, 2012 5:00 pm
4Admission Written TestWednesday 13th June, 2012
10:00 am
5Interview / practicalFriday 15th June, 201211:30 am
6Declaration of result

Friday 15th June, 2012
7Counseling, Orientation & Medical ExaminationMonday

09th July, 201210.00 am
8Session Begins

Tuesday10th July, 201208.00 am

Note :
The World’s first ever low temperature thermal desalination plant ( LTTD ) was opened in Kavaratti.

Union Territory of Puducherry

Situated on the Coromandel Coast, about 160 kms south of Chennai, lies the Union Territory of Puducherry. The French ruled this territory for 300 years, and today, it stands as a living monument of the French culture in India. It is bound on the east by the Bay of Bengal and on the other three sides by the South Arcot District of Tamil Nadu. About 150 kilometres south of Puducherry, on the. east coast, lies Karaikal, while Mahe is situated on the Malabar coast. Yanam is situated in the adjoining East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh. The culture of Pondicherry ( as a UT ) is synonymous with the culture and tradition of Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Andhra Pradesh due to the scattering of the regions of the UT in these states.

  • Capital : Puducherry;
  • Area : 492 Sq. Km;
  • Population : 12,44,464;
  • Density : 2,598;
  • Sex Ratio : 1,038;
  • Literacy : 86.55%
Date of downloading the Admission Tickets by Applicants23rd June, 2015
Date of Diploma Common Entrance Test 201505th July, 2015
Date of Kannada language Test : ( ONLY for Horanadu & Gadinadu
Kannadiga candidates)
05th July, 2015 ( 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM )
Date of publication of 'Diploma CET 2015' Provisional Answer Key06th July, 2015 after 6:00 PM
Last date for submission of objections, if any, regarding Answer Key09th July, 2015 before 5:30 PM
Last date for appearing to NATA30th June, 2015
Last date for submission of NATA scores to KEA02nd July, 2015
Date of publication of DCET - 2015 Results along with applied Answer Key11th July, 2015

Unit Trust of India ( UTI )

  • It was established on 1st February 1964 under Indian Unit Act 1963 and is a statutory investment institution in the public sector.
  • UTI mobilises saving funds from the public by selling its units in various unit scheme.
  • The mobilised resources are invested by the Trust in the shares and debentures of various well established companies and its net profit among its unit holders as dividend.
  • Presently UTI is the largest investor in Indian Share Market.


JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.