Biography of Tarun Gogoi

General Knowledge »

Assam Chief Minister Tarun Kumar Gogoi Biography
General Studies Question Bank CD
The ongoing Chief Minister of Assam is Indian National Congress Party Member Tarun Kumar Gogoi.

Tarun Kumar Gogoi is the ongoing chief minister of the state of Assam in India. To him Assam is a multi – racial and multi – religious society and any fundamentalist group to disrupt normal life in the state has put the security forces on alert to prevent attempts. By profession he is a lawyer.

On 1st April 1936, Gogoi was born on the Rangajan tea estate in the Jorhat district of Assam. Taru Gogoi graduated from J B College, Jorhat and did his LL.B from Gauhati University.

Taru Gogoi married to Dolly Gogoi and the couple has one son and one daughter. In the year 1971, Mr. Gogoi took his entry into the 5th Lok Sabha. Taru Gogoi became the Joint Secretary of All India Congress Committee in the year 1976.

In the year 1977, Taru Gogoi was re – elected to the 6th Lok Sabha. Taru Gogoi was re – elected then again, to the 7th Lok Sabha in 1983. In 1991, for the 4th time, Taru Gogoi was elected to the 10th Lok Sabha. During 1991 – 93, Taru Gogoi served as the Union Minister of Food (Independent Charge).

Taru Gogoi held the portfolio of Food Processing Industry as the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) from 1993 to 1995.

From Margherita Constituency, during 1996 – 98, Taru Gogoi was elected as the Member of Assam Legislative Assembly. To the 12th Lok Sabha, Taru Gogoi was elected as a member of Parliament for the firth time in 1998.

Again in 1999, Mr. Gogoi was re – elected to the 13th Lok Sabha. Taru Gogoi assumed the Office of Chief Minister, Assam On 17th May, 2001. Taru Gogoi has also served as the Ex – Treasurer, All Assam Moina Parijat & Children’s Organizations and Ex Chairman, Bharat Yuvak Samaj.

General Studies Question Bank CD

Tarun Gogoi has also held the posts of :

  • Ex – Director, Vayudoot.
  • Member, Bar Council, Assam.
  • Ex – Chairman, Assam Small Scale Industries Development Corporation.
  • Ex – Vice – President, J.B. College Students’ Union; and Assam Inter College Students’ Union.
  • Former Joint Secretary, Jorhat Law College.
  • Ex – Commander, Students’ Volunteer Corps.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.