East West Center, Obuchi Student Scholarship, USA

Scholarships » USA »

Obuchi Student Scholarship

Study Subject: Any Subject

Employer: East West Center

Level: Graduate

Since its founding in 1960, when the U.S. Congress established the East-West Center (EWC) as an education and research institution to strengthen relations and understanding among the nations and peoples of Asia, the Pacific and the United States, the Center has promoted the development of a peaceful, prosperous, and just Asia Pacific community through programs of cooperative study, training, and research.

The need for regional cooperation and community building among nations has never been greater. This is an era of increasing social, economic, and technological interdependence in which leaders in every arena must possess regional literacy, knowledge based on multi-cultural perspectives, and a shared sense of community.

Funded by the U.S. government and private contributions through the East-West Center, these scholarships are offered through the Obuchi Okinawa Education and Research Program, a joint venture of the United States and Japanese governments.

The program’s mission is to help Okinawa develop and strengthen its human resources in order to take a more proactive role in Asia Pacific intellectual, research, and business activities.

Obuchi Student Scholarship recipients participate in educational and research programs at the East-West Center while pursuing graduate study at the University of Hawai‘i, or while completing the Asia Pacific Leadership Program at the Center.

The East-West Center and the University of Hawai‘i, located in a unique island setting with a distinctive multicultural heritage, offer premier resources for studies on Asia, the Pacific, and the United States.

Through East-West Center affiliation, awardees become part of a growing network of students and alumni forging the shape and substance of the world’s most vibrant region.

Scholarship Application Deadline for Obuchi Student Scholarship : 1 December 2010

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.