Kress Foundation Fellowship, USA

Scholarships » USA »

Kress Institutional Fellowships in History of Art

Advanced training in European art history requires direct exposure to the object of study, prolonged access to key information resources such as libraries and photographic archives, the development of professional relationships with colleagues abroad, and sustained immersion in European cultures. These related needs are often best satisfied by extended engagement with a European art research center. The Kress History of Art : Institutional Fellowships are intended to provide promising young art historians with the opportunity to experience just this kind of immersion.

The Foundation strongly urges its grantees and fellowship administrators to help diversify the next generation of art historians, art conservators, and art museum professionals by adopting an inclusive approach to all Kress-sponsored partnerships and educational and training opportunities.

Kress Institutional Fellowship Description

Six pre-doctoral Kress Institutional Fellowships in the History of European Art will be awarded each year. Each fellowship provides for a two-year research appointment hosted by one of the following European art history research centers:

  • Florence Kunsthistorisches Institut / Institute for Art History
  • Leiden Leiden University Centre for the Arts in Society ( LUCAS )
  • London Courtauld Institute of Art & Warburg Institute of Art ( jointly administered )
  • Munich Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte / Central Institute for Art History
  • Paris Institut national d’histoire de l’art ( INHA ) / National Institute for the History of Art
  • Rome Bibliotheca Hertziana

The fellowship award is $30,000 per annum.

Kress Institutional Fellowship Eligibility

Restricted to pre-doctoral candidates in the history of art and related disciplines ( such as archaeology, architecture, or classics ). Nominees must be U.S. citizens or individuals matriculated at an American university. Dissertation research must focus on European art from antiquity to the early 19th century. Candidates must be nominated by their academic department.

Please note : Each university is limited to two nominees per academic department. The nominees must be applying for different research centers.

Kress Institutional Fellowship Application Form

Candidate must submit one complete application to your chosen European host institution, and one complete copy to the Kress Foundation. He / She must use the Fellowship Application Form provided here as the cover sheet.

Note : If you are applying to the fellowship in London, jointly administered by the Courtauld Institute of Art and the Warburg Institute, you must submit one complete application to the Courtauld Institute, another to the Warburg Institute, and a third copy to the Kress Foundation.

The originals of all the above materials should be sent in one packet to the chosen European host institution. (Please see the list of research centers and their mailing addresses at the end of this document.)

One (1) copy of all the above materials should also be sent in a single packet to the

Kress Foundation:
Samuel H. Kress Foundation
174 East 80th Street
New York, NY 10075

Applications must be received by 30th November.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.