University of Antwerp

Study Abroad » Belgium »

University of Antwerp

University of Antwerp,
Prinsstraat 13, BE-2000 Antwerpen,
Telephone No : +32 3 265 41 11,
Website :

The University of Antwerp is characterised by its high standards in education, internationally competitive research and entrepreneurial approach. It was founded in 2003 after the merger of three university institutions previously known as RUCA, UFSIA and UIA. Their roots go back to 1852. The University of Antwerp has about 13.000 students, which makes it the third largest university in Flanders. 1.800 international students ( exchange students not included ) are registered at the UA. The University of Antwerp formes the backbone of the Antwerp University Association ( AUHA ) a strategic collaboration with four university colleges in the city of Antwerp.

Faculties :

The quality of education in Flanders is outstanding. Antwerp has had the opportunity to keep abreast of new educational developments through its curriculum reform and educational innovation program. Teaching and learning at the 7 faculties, 16 institutes and many different centres is student – centred and competency – based, with an individual approach in which students are stimulated to develop into independently minded people who are capable of thinking analytically.

  • Applied Economic Sciences
  • Arts and Philosophy
  • Law
  • Medicine
  • Pharmaceutical, Biomedical and Veterinary Sciences
  • Political and Social Sciences
  • Exact Sciences
  • In addition, some excellent programs are offered in its 18 institutes and different centres.

Facilities :

  • Libraries
  • Housing
  • Student Associations
  • Sports
  • Language Courses
  • Restaurants

The Academic System :

In line with the Bologna Declaration Flanders has adopted the Bachelor-Master system with a three-year undergraduate cycle ( Bachelor’s degree ) and a one-year or two-year graduate cycle ( Master’s degree ). The first bachelors have been introduced in 2004-2005, the first masters will be launched from 2007-2008 onwards. At the University of Antwerp, education is offered at different levels ( Bachelor, Master, Doctoral ) and in the following fields :

  • Arts
  • Applied Economics
  • Law
  • Medicine
  • Pharmaceutical, Biomedical and Veterinary sciences
  • Political and Social sciences
  • Sciences

The University of Antwerp uses the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation system ( ECTS ). All study programs are measured in terms of credits. A full-time one-year study program amounts to 60 credits ( 30 credits per semester ), which comprises a student workload of about 1,500 to 1,800 hours. One credit stands for 25 to 30 hours of work including contact hours.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.