S.D.M. College of Dental Sciences & Hospital Dharwad

Top Colleges » Dental Colleges »

S.D.M. College of Dental Sciences & Hospital Dharwad

S.D.M. College of Dental Sciences ( SDMCDS ), Dharwad was established in year 1986 is a self financing, non profitable organization with a vision of excellence in knowledge, skills and service.

The SDMCDS is situated at Sattur between Hubli & Dharwad, in the northern tip of Karnataka, with a population of more than a million is the second largest city in the state of Karnataka after Bangalore and is known as a cultural and educational center.

The Dental College situated in a picturesque surrounding along the main drive ( Pune – Bangalore National Highway No.4 ) between Dharwad and Hubli on a 40 acre campus, provides the ideal academic ambience, is pollution free since its away from the city and has ample campus accommodation for students and recreation facilities.

It attracts students from all over the country. The college building spans about 1,40,000 sqft, houses 9 full – fledged departments with an attached medical wing, which is unique.

The College is affiliated to the Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences, Bangalore and is recognised by the Dental Council of India.

It has become a centre of excellence, not only because of its unique architectural style, but also because of glorious academic achievements including ranks and gold medals secured by the students.

It has been accredited with five stars by NAAC, a unit of University Grants Commission. The Dental school offers undergraduate and post – graduate courses in all the dental specialties and a certificate course in Dental Mechanics.

Facilities at S.D.M. College of Dental Sciences and Hospital

  • Library
  • Laboratories
  • Internet
  • Audio – Visual
  • Clinical
  • Hostel

SDM College Dharwad Karnataka Courses

1. Bachelor of Dental Surgery ( BDS )

  • Category : Dental Surgery
  • Degree : BDS
  • Mode : Full Time
  • Medium : Campus
  • Duration : 5 Years

BDS – Stands for Bachelor of Dental Surgery. Typically, BDS is a 5 year course, minimum eligibility for which is an intermediate ( 10+2 ) with science and 50% marks. Dental Surgery handles all problems and diseases associated with gums, teeth and mouth as well as soft and hard tissues of oral cavity.

Basic Eligibility : XII

2. Master of Dental Surgery ( MDS )

  • Category : Dental Surgery
  • Degree : MDS
  • Mode : Full Time
  • Medium : Campus
  • Duration : 3 Years

M.D.S. Dental Surgery – Stands for Master of Dental Surgery. Typically an MDS is a 3 year course, minimum eligibility for which is an undergraduate degree is Bachelor of Dental Surgery ( BDS ) or any undergraduate degree with an entrance test for the MDS course ( This depends on the institute and its policies ).

The most common specializations available under this degree are Community Dentistry, Conservative Dentistry, Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, Pedodontics, Preventive Dentistry, Oral Pathology, Prosthodontics, Periodontics, Orthodontics, Oral Medicine, Oral Diagnosis & Radiology, Public Health Dentistry etc.

Basic Eligibility : BDS

3. Dental Mechanic Certificate ( DMC )

  • Category : Dental Mechanic
  • Degree : Certificate
  • Mode : Full Time
  • Medium : Campus
  • Duration : 2 Years

Basic Eligibility : 10 + 2 or two – year intermediate or equivalent course with science subjects i.e. Physics, Chemistry and Biology, from recognised Indian University or Pre – University / Intermediate Board.

S.D.M. College of Dental Sciences & Hospital Dharwad Contact Details :-

Name : S.D.M. College of Dental Sciences & Hospital – Dharwad,
Location : Sattur, Dharwad, Karnataka, India,
Contact No. : 0836 – 2467676, 2468142,
Email : sdmcdsweb@gmail.com,
Website : www.sdmcds.org.

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.