Netaji Subhas Open University

Universities in India » West Bengal »

Netaji Subhas Open University Information

Netaji Subhas Open University ( NSOU ) is the premier State Open University in India. Established by W.B. Act ( XIX ) of 1997 and Recognised by U.G.C.

At present, Netaji Subhas Open University is continuing its work with 191 Study Centres. In near future more Study Centres will be opened with thrust on “meeting the unmet” particularly the disadvantaged sector of the rural community & minority with application of IT. The Study Centres of Netaji Subhas Open University, which have already been opened and are on the anvil of opening will also provide for widening the scope of several vocational, professional & Online courses in addition to its existing courses upto M.Phil & Ph.D. levels.

At present the University functions from its following six ( 6 ) campuses :

Indian Institute of Technology,
Hauz Khas,
New Delhi - 110016,
Jawaharlal Nehru University,
Bioinformatics Centre,
New Mehrauli Road,
New Delhi - 110067,
Indian Agricultural Research Institute,
Pusa Campus,
New Delhi - 110012,
Indian Institute of Science,
Bangalore - 560012, Karnataka,
Website :
Bose Institute,
Bioinformatics Division,
Main Campus, 93/1,
Acharya Prafulla Chandra Road,
Kolkata - 700009, West Bengal,
Bioinformatics Institute of India,
C - 56A / 28, Sector - 62,
Noida - 201301,
Uttar Pradesh,
Indian Institute of Technology,
Kharagpur - 721302,
West Bangal,
Madurai Kamaraj University,
School of Biotechnology,
Madurai - 625021,
Tamil Nadu.
University of Pune,
Bioinformatics Centre,
Pune - 411007,
Pondicherry University,
Bioinformatics Centre,
School of Life Sciences,
Pondicherry - 605014,
Institute of Bioinformatics and Applied Biotechnology,
G - 05, Tech Park Mall,
International Technology Park,
Whitefield Road,
Bangalore - 560066, Karnataka,

Netaji Subhas Open University is also developing its Urban Campus at Salt Lake.

Netaji Subhas Open University has been experiencing exponential growth in several dimensions the number of Study Centres has escalated to a height of as much as 191, several subjects of studies have been added to its list of courses.

Netaji Subhas Open University is engaged in the task of realizing its vision ‘to reach the unreached’. Currently Netaji Subhas Open University has attained the status of Mega University, with more than 1, 00, 000 learners in more than 80 courses.

{tab=NSOU Courses}

Netaji Subhas Open University Courses :

The Under Graduate Post Graduate & PhD Courses offered by Netaji Subhas Open University are :

NSOU Under Graduate

Humanities and Social Science :

  • Bengali
  • English
  • History
  • Sociology
  • Economics
  • Political Science
  • Public Administration.


  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Mathematics
  • Botany
  • Zoology
  • Geography.


  • B.Com.

Postgraduate Courses NSOU

Humanities and Social Science :

  • Bengali
  • English
  • English Language Teaching
  • History
  • Education
  • Social Work
  • Political Science.


  • Geography
  • Zoology
  • Mathematics.



Interdisciplinary Science:

  • Library Science.

Computer Science:

  • MCA.

Business Administration:

  • MBA.

NSOU PhD Programs :

  • Arts : all subjects
  • Science : Mathematics, Geography, Environmental Science
  • Commerce
  • Management
  • Computer Science / Application
  • Distance Education
  • Interdisciplinary Subjects

{tab=NSOU Address}

Netaji Subhas Open University Address :

Netaji Subhas Open University ( NSOU ),
1, Woodburn Park,
Kolkata – 700 020,
West Bengal, India,
Telephone No. : ( 033 ) 2283 – 5157,
Fax :
( 033 ) 2283 – 5082.

{tab=NSOU Distance Education}

Netaji Subhas Open University Distance Education :

Distance Education Council ( DEC ) is an organisation based in New Delhi, India responsible for the promotion and coordination of the open university and distance education system and for determination of its standards in India. The Council was constituted under the Indira Gandhi National Open University Act ( 1985 ). Its consistent with the duty of Netaji Subhas Open University that takes all such steps as it may deem fit for the promotion of the Open University and distance education systems in the educational pattern of the country and for the coordination and determination of standards of teaching, evaluation & research in such systems; and in pursuance of the objects of Netaji Subhas Open University to encourage greater flexibility, diversity, accessibility, mobility and innovation in education at Netaji Subhas Open University level by making full use of the latest scientific knowledge and new educational technology, and to further cooperation between the existing Universities. It is considered necessary and expedient to establish a Distance Education Council as an authority of the University under Section 16 of the Act.

{tab=NSOU Study Center}

Netaji Subhas Open University Study Center :

Netaji Subhas Open University provides Study Materials which are in the Self – Learning or Self – Instructional Format ( SLM & SIM ). Netaji Subhas Open University provides various Student Support Services ( SSS ) through a Network of Study Centres. A list of existing Study Centres is enclosed below. These centres cover all the districts of the State & are located at convenient points connected by Public Transport. A Study Centre is placed under the supervision of a coordinator assisted by the staff of his office. It provides all information regarding admission procedures, courses of study and basic information about Netaji Subhas Open University.

At the beginning of each session, the Study Centres invite the students for an induction meeting where they are familiarized with the aims, objectives & activities of Netaji Subhas Open University & the methodology of Distance Education.

The Study Centres draw schedules of counseling session and notify the same for the students. Normally, the counseling sessions are held during weekends and periods of vacation of the host institutions.

The study centres also arrange holding of examination in accordance with the schedules fixed by Netaji Subhas Open University from time to time. In short, each study centre acts as the day – to – day link between the students and Netaji Subhas Open University.


JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.