Sikkim-Manipal University of Health Medical & Technological Scienes – SMUHMTS University

Universities in India » Sikkim »

SMUHMTS Sikkim-Manipal University of Health Medical & Technological Sciences History

Sikkim Manipal University (SMU) formerly known as Sikkim Manipal University of Health, Medical and Technological Sciences came into existence on November 15, 1992 as a result of the agreement signed between the Government of Sikkim and the Manipal Pai Foundation, with the aim of imparting exemplary education and health care services in the state of Sikkim and country wide. It is the first ever Public Private Partnership in the country for higher Education and Health Care Services. The University has two campuses: Medical campus and the Technology campus. Government of Sikkim provides a grant of Rs. 2.25 Crores per annum for the hospital against which CRH provides free treatment to BPL families and concessional treatment to other residents of the State.


The University was established in 1995 vide Sikkim Manipal University of Health, Medical and Technological Sciences Act (Act No. 9 of 1995).  SMU is recognized by the University Grants Commission under Section 2(f) of the UGC Act, 1956 vide letter No F. 9-7/96(CPP-I) dated 9th Dec 1998 and approved by the Government of India. All courses run by the university are approved by the regulatory bodies like Medical Council of India (MCI), Nursing Council of India, Indian Association of Physiotherapy, All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and the Distance Education Council.


The Sikkim Manipal University of Health Medical and Technological Sciences (Amendment) Act No. 13 of 2009 was passed by the Sikkim Legislative Assembly on 12 Dec, 2009 and received the assent of The Governor of Sikkim on the 22nd of January 2010. Vide Notification No. 13/LD/P/2010, Dated: 08/04/2010 of Sikkim Government, Sikkim Manipal University of Health Medical and Technological Sciences was changed to Sikkim Manipal

{tab=SMUHMTS University Courses}

Sikkim Manipal University Courses

The Under Graduate & Post Graduate Courses offered by SMUHMTS University are :

UNDERGRADUATE B.Tech courses offered at SMIT are:

  • Civil Engineering Natural Hazard and Disaster Management, Earthquake Resistant Structures
  • Computer Science & Engineering- Data Science, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Cyber-Physical System
  • Electronics & Communication Engineering- VLSI & Nanotechnology, Internet of Things (IoT), Signal Processing
  • Electrical & Electronics Engineering- Electric Drive Vehicle Engineering, Power and Energy System
  • Information Technology Artificial Intelligence and Machine learning, Cloud Computing, Cyber Security, Management Information Systems (MIS)
  • Mechanical Engineering-Automotive Engineering, Robotics & Automation, Machine Design
  • Bachelor of Computer Application
  • BBA – Bachelor of Business Administration
  • Lateral B.Tech (CE, CSE, ECE, EEE, IT, ME)


  • M.Tech (Computer Science & Engineering, Digital Electronics & Communication Engineering, Information Technology, Power Electronics, Production Engineering, Structural Engineering).
  • MCA
  • MBA
  • MSc (Physics, Chemistry & Mathematics)


  • MBBS
  • BSc. Nursing
  • Bachelor of Physiotherapy (BPT)
  • B.Sc. Medical Biotechnology
  • B.Com Honours (Accounting, Finance)
  • B.A Honours ( English, Political Science, Sociology)
  • NCCMP (NSE Certified Capital Market Professionals) can be opted along with BA (Hons)/ BCom (Hons)/MA/MCom

Paramedical Diploma Courses

  • Diploma in Medical Laboratory Technology
  • Diploma in Radiography and Imaging Technology
  • Diploma in Cardiac Cath Lab Technology
  • Diploma in Cardiac Technology (Non-Invasive)
  • Diploma in Critical Care Technology
  • Diploma in Operation Theatre Technology
  • Diploma in Medical Records Management


  • MD / MS
  • MSc. Nursing
  • Master of Physiotherapy (MPT)
  • M.Sc. in Medical Biotechnology
  • M Com (Accounting, Finance)
  • MA English
  • MA in Political Science
  • MA Sociology
  • MHA (Master In Hospital Administration)


PhD (Doctor of Philosophy)


  • PhD. Programmes (Computer Science & Engineering)
  • PhD. Programmes (Electronics & Communication Engineering)
  • PhD. Programmes (Electrical & Electronics Engineering)
  • PhD. Programmes (Mechanical Engineering)
  • PhD. Programmes (Information Technology)
  • PhD. Programmes (Computer Applications)
  • PhD. Programmes (Management Studies)
  • PhD. Programmes (Chemistry)
  • PhD. Programmes (Physics)
  • PhD. Programmes (Mathematics)
  • Ph.D. Programmes (Mathematics -Statistics / Biostatistics)
  • PhD. Programmes (Anatomy)
  • PhD. Programmes (Microbiology)
  • PhD. Programmes (Medical Biotechnology)
  • PhD. Programmes (Biochemistry)
  • PhD. Programmes (Community Medicine)
  • PhD. Programmes (Pediatrics)
  • PhD. Programmes (Pathology)
  • PhD. Programmes (Pharmacology)
  • PhD. Programmes (Physiology)
  • PhD. Programmes (Civil Engineering)
  • PhD. Programmes (English)


AdmissionProcedure uploadthe requireddocuments.

Onlineprovisionaladmissionwillbebasedontheeligibilitycriteriaandtheinter-semerit.Thereisnoen-trance examination.

Admissionwillbeconfirmedaftersuccessfulverificationoftheoriginaldocuments.During physicalverification,presenceofcandidatewith parentismust.



MBBS Ongoing
MD/MS Ongoing
B.Sc Medical Biotechnology 31-July-2021
M.Sc Medical Biotechnology 31-July-2021
BA 25-August-2021
MA 25-August-2021
B.Com -25-August-2021
M.Com 25-August-2021
Master in Hospital Administration 20-July-2021
Bachelor in Physiotherapy 10-July-2021
Master in Physiotherapy 20-July-2021
B.Sc Nursing 31-May-2021
M.Sc Nursing 15-July-2021
Paramedical Courses – Diploma 31-August-2021
B.Tech 10-April-2021
B.Tech Lateral Entry 30-June-2021
BBA/MBA 10-June-2021
BCA/MCA/MCA(LE)/M TECH/B Sc IT/M Sc IT 15-June-2021
M Sc (Phys, Chem, Maths) 13-July-2021
Please refer regularly for any change in date.

Sikkim Manipal University Contact Us

Sikkim Manipal University ( SMU )


East Sikkim – 737136,

Sikkim, India


Phone No. : +91 9735110007/ 9635527557

{tab=About SMUHMTS University Distance Education}

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.