University of Hyderabad – UoH University

Universities in India » Andhra Pradesh »

Information About University of Hyderabad

The University of Hyderabad was established on 2 October 1974 by an act of parliament and recognized as premier institution in the country for providing postgraduate education and conducting research. The University of Hyderabad is a Central University and fully funded by the University of Hyderabad Grants Commission ( UGC ) of India. UGC also has recognized University of Hyderabad as ‘Universities with Potential for Excellence’.

The University of Hyderabad was sanctioned a grant of Rupee 30 crore for interfacial Studies & Research and Holistic Development for a period of 5 years ( 2002 – 2007 ). The National Assessment and Accreditation Council ( NAAC ) has given Grade A to the University of Hyderabad. The National Information System for Science and Technology ( NISSAT ) rated the University under the ‘High Output – High Impact’ category among the top 50 institutions in India. Under FIST ( Fund for Improvement of Science and Technology ) program the Department of Science and Technology ( DST ) of the Government of India sanctioned over Rupees four Crores.

Under FIST Programs with a total financial support of Rupee 24.06 crores 3 Nos. of IBM P690, 32 Power 4 + Processors each were installed in January 2004 and an IBM P595, 48 Power Processor was installed in January 2005. Besides this, 6 IBM Intelli – Workstations have also been installed. The University of Hyderabad is a member of the Association of Indian Universities ( AIU ); and the Association of Commonwealth Universities ( ACU ).

{tab=University of Hyderabad Courses}

Courses Offered in University of Hyderabad

1. Postgraduate Courses :

a) MSc Courses :

  • Mathematics
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Statistics
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Biochemistry
  • Plant Biology & Biotechnology
  • Molecular Microbiology
  • Animal Biotechnology
  • Biotechnology
  • Health Psychology
  • Optometry & Vision Sciences
  • Nursing Sciences
  • Systems Biology

b) MA Courses :

  • Humanities
  • Hindi, Telugu and Urdu
  • Language Science
  • Social Sciences

2. Advanced PG Diploma Courses :

  • Mineral Exploration
  • Folk Culture studies

3. PG Diploma Courses :

  • Counseling Psychology
  • Health Fitness and Life Style Management

4. MTech Courses :

  • Computer Science
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Information Technology
  • Computational Techniques
  • Integrated Circuit Technology ( ICT )
  • Bioinformatics
  • Mineral Exploration

5. MPhil Courses :

  • English, Philosophy, Hindi, Telugu, Urdu, Applied Linguistics, Translation Studies, Comparative Literature, Shabdabodha Systems & Language Technologies, Economics, Theatre Arts, Communication, Management Studies, Medical Sciences, Materials Engineering, Nano Science and Technology, Earth & Space Sciences, ACRHEM, Psychology, Neural and Cognitive Sciences, Gender Studies, Buddhist Studies, High Performance Computing.

6. Integrated MTech /  PhD Courses :

  • Materials Engineering
  • Nano Science and Technology

7. Integrated MSc / PhD Courses :

  • Biotechnology

8. MCA ( Master of Computer Application )

9. MBA Course :

  • Health Care and
  • Hospital Management

10. MA Courses :

  • English, Philosophy, Hindi, Telugu, Urdu, Applied Linguistics, Comparative Literature, Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology, Anthropology, Communication.

11. MPA Course :

a) Dance Courses :

  • Kuchipudi
  • Bharatanatyam
  • Folk

12. MPA Course :

  • Theatre Arts

13. MFA Courses :

  • Painting, Print Making, Sculpture, Art History, History, Political Science, Sociology, Anthropology, Regional Studies, Social Exclusion & Inclusive Policy, Indian Diaspora, Cognitive Science, Gender Studies.

14. PhD Courses :

  • Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, Statistics / Operations Research ( or ), Computer Science, Physics, Electronics Science, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Plant Sciences, Animal Sciences, Biotechnology, English, Philosophy, Hindi, Telugu, Urdu, Applied Linguistics, Translation Studies, Comparative Literature, Sanskrit Studies, Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology, Anthropology, Regional Studies, Folk Culture Studies, Social Exclusion & Inclusive Policy, Indian Diaspora, Science Technology and Society Studies, Human Rights, Gandhian Economic Thought, Dance Technology.

{tab=University of Hyderabad School & Departments}

School & Departments in University of Hyderabad

I. School of Mathematics & Computer / Information Sciences

  • Department of Mathematics & Statistics
  • Department of Computer & Information Sciences

II. School of Physics

III. School of Chemistry

IV. School of Life Sciences

  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Plant Sciences
  • Department of Animal Sciences
  • Department of Biotechnology

V. School of Humanities

  • Department of English
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Telugu
  • Department of Urdu
  • Department of Sanskrit Studies
  • Centre for Applied Linguistics and Translation Studies
  • Centre for Comparative Literature
  • Centre for English Language Studies
  • Human Values Cell
  • Centre for Endangered Languages & Mother Tongue Studies

VI. School of Social Sciences

  • Department of Economics
  • Department of History
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Centre for Regional Studies
  • Centre for Folk Culture Studies
  • Centre for the Study of Indian Diaspora
  • Centre for Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy
  • Center for Knowledge Culture and Innovation Studies
  • Centre for Human Rights
  • Centre for Gandhian Economic Thought
  • Centre for Ambedkar Studies

VII. Sarojini Naidu School of Arts & Communication

  • Department of Dance
  • Department of Theatre Arts
  • Department of Fine Arts
  • Department of Communication

VIII. School of Management Studies

IX. School of Medical Sciences

X. School of Engineering Sciences & Technology

{tab=University of Hyderabad Contact}

University of Hyderabad Contact Details

University of Hyderabad, Prof. CR Rao Road, Gachibowli,
Hyderabad – 500 046,
Andhra Pradesh, India,
Phone : +91 – 40 – 23010245, 23132100,
Email :,
Website :

JEE Main

Application Form Submission 16 Dec 2020 to 16 Jan 2021.